Is a blockchained and monetized FPS for Steem possible?

in #gaming5 years ago

Once upon a time, I used to love playing First Person Shooters (FPS) namely, Ghost Recon. Yep, it was a long time ago but I did go over to Battlefield 2 and 3 also and yes, still a long time ago. However, there are some benefits of these old games perhaps, at least for a beginning point.

There are a lot of gamers out there on Steem playing all sorts of things and streaming them but what I am hoping is that someone can find a way to take it a few steps further for monetization and instead start integrating Steem heavily into the game itself.

I am just spitballing this through at the moment to see what comes up.

First and foremost, once real value is integrated into a game the scammers are going to come out and try to game the system which is why I am choosing old games that don't require much bandwidth. I played the first Ghost Recon from Australia and it was laggy AF on a 52k modem but, playable. Anyone still on a 52k? Unlikely. So, this means that the entire game could be served from a browser-based system so that there is no way to install the various hacks and it will still run smoothly enough, at least for a decent proof of concept trial.

What I imagine is something like this.

Perhaps there is an open source and usable game that could already handle this (maybe someone is already doing it?). The games have to log a whole lot of data in order to play including hit points, head shots and various statistics. These can be leveraged in numerous ways to provide data to the blockchain and be used for various monetization factors.

A player could play potentially for free where nothing is tracked or they could load up their Steem and go head to head against opponents in real time with various incentives such as winner takes all Steem from the round or of course, earn Steem from the inflation pool in various ways also. There could of course be team events and tournaments and spectators/ gamblers could even place bets/votes ahead of time on players or teams with players and the platform taking some percentage of the door money. The odds could be worked out based on the votes on sides simply enough.

Weapons and kits could be bought directly with Steem, custom team camouflage and skins could be purchased and a whole range of various upgrades and additions could be integrated into the game to not only monetize it but, connect people to the game itself.

Why would anyone play low quality graphics games? They play Minecraft don't they? Throw in some monetization and action as well as a very low barrier of entry and low chance of hacking with game records kept on the blockchain, and globally people are able to play together with bare minimum spec equipment and earn on their gaming skills.There is a push toward low-fi and when there is a very low barrier of entry with addictive and compelling content, virality is just a little luck away. Browser basing it gives creators a lot more control over the game as well as a lot more power to moderate.

I know that @dlux-io is experimenting with some VR and a few other pieces of tech that might help this along but I think that there is a huge amount of potential to get these kinds of games onto Steem as soon as possible. There is no need for all of the fanciness and graphics if there is both fun and profit up for grabs. It would sure as hell beat the entertainment value of those dice games and if popular, could actually be used as a gambling mechanism of sorts too without having to actually play. The lower the barriers of entry the better, and getting into crypto via gaming is definitely something that a lot of people would be interested in.

I don't know much about the technical requirements and what parts would need to be on the blockchain and which could be through a normal database but, would you be interested in a FPS game on Steem?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

Hi, some guys are already developing such a FPS game.

https://steemit.com/wod/@wod-game/war-of-decentralization-community-update-1

That is awesome. Something I like about Steem is there are so many things going on I don't hear about or see which I take as a sign of me not being able to keep up with the growth. I will give them a follow now, thanks :)

I didn't know about this either.I thought the great Taraz knew everything on here lol. This place is growing very quickly. Imagine leaving for 6 months or a year and then logging back in. So much has changed you would think it was a different platform. I can't wait for 2 years time because there are going to be so many different options.

Imagine leaving for 6 months or a year and then logging back in.

I know people who have done this at various times and depending what is going on have been pleasantly surprised or looked on with abject horror :) The place is growing fast and soon there is going to be so many more applications that I have never heard of.

I think it will be a case of shock and horror. From my understanding not much did happen for so long and the only change was the price of Steem attracting new users. Everyone was waiting on SMT's from the Steemfest 2 years ago and nothing happened. I think I joined at the right time if I look back as since March there has been a decline of users, but also the emergence of all these new sites. You leave now at your peril.

I know people who have done this at various times and depending what is going on have been pleasantly surprised or looked on with abject horror

And those of us who feel a significant amount of both! 👍(Even if we are active)

earn Steem from the inflation pool in various ways also.

Sheez mate! then, I suspect I'd be in big troubles to earn some Steem playing modern FPS games through the Steem blockchain. Because I'm afraid I will suck at them big time for lack of practice.

I played the first Ghost Recon from Australia and it was laggy AF on a 52k modem but, playable. Anyone still on a 52k?

Fortunately, I am not on a 52kbps modem anymore. But just recalling that the last computer game I played intensively and I was good enough on it was Pong on an Atari 2600.

Uhm.. no, maybe I'm lying. Perhaps the last computer game I've played was Bushido a few years after. When I finally had the luck to purchase my first decent PC for around $6,500.00 at the time. Where I could play a 'Real FPS Game' running on my flamant brandnew 64k Original IBM PC under DOS. };)

¿Do you think I would have a chance to earn and grow my SP? };)

Loading...

Give the experiment with Steem Monsters, I am sure there would be interest in this sort of game. I know I would as it would be a gamers dream to play and earn without needing to be a probof famous streamer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I know I would as it would be a gamers dream to play and earn without needing to be a probof famous streamer!

When prices were up and people were streaming on Dlive they were likely earning more than most average streamers do. I am not really into the scene at all though :)

Ive mentioned how cool this would be for mmorpgs a long time ago. Most already have real economies anyways as people sell in game currency for realworld money why not just take it the next step and create a game based around an smt, or steem.

Im not sure of the being built on blockchain feasibility, as most games I play on different blockchains feel slow and clunky, but I think most games now days could easily integrate some sort of crypto in the game itself with how prevelant micro transactions are becoming.

Posted using Partiko Android

but I think most games now days could easily integrate some sort of crypto in the game itself with how prevelant micro transactions are becoming.

This is obviously the first step and I am guessing for games requiring speed of frame, there are other challenges but I do think there are ways it could be done through some hack workarounds.

Interesting thoughts on monetization of fun.
I think this is a good idea and the popularity of games like cryptokiddies in Ethereum and Steem Monsters in Steem suggest that people really like the idea of combining earning cryptocurrency with fun. You are taking the concept further by suggesting a creative task or accomplishment oriented reward system using cryptocurrency. I bought “smack gobs” of a certain cryptocurrency when I first got involved in cryptocurrency because this concept was part of their white paper. Sadly like many roadmaps the goal was never achieved, but I still have the crypto, but sadly on an exchange Cryptopia 😆 (side note, proof of keys is proof of ownership).

I think I will contact a YouTuber who makes smack gobs of cash on my favorite game and see if they are interested in bankrolling a reward system, but first I need to develop a reward system and figure out how to prevent people from “”gaming it” 🤣😂😅
Or figure out how make “gaming it” the whole point. 🤣😂😅

If I get rich I will be sure to share the Steem, who knows maybe we can collaborate on a system we each can apply to our favorite games.
🤔🔑

Or figure out how make “gaming it” the whole point.

Isn't that the goal on Steem?

Interesting thoughts on monetization of fun.

Whether I like it or not, entertainment is where many users will come from and if through game draw they can be introduced and trained in crypto, there is a chance that large amounts of people can actually benefit from decentralized currencies. WE just need to get more hooks into the real world.

Agree that we need to “get more hooks into the real world “
I also think that gamers are in general very tolerant of learning complex systems that result in accomplishments and rewards. The majority of which have no utility in the real world. They are possibly a perfect subset to introduce to crypto through games with this new concept of rewards which have both value and utility in the real world!

There's also this project of a MMO by @chibera.

Back to FPS now... I was just thinking of what can be monetized and how. There are a lot of personal achievements that can be tracked like they do in the game that brought me back to shooters - Overwatch. You gain experience, medals and all kind of season and lifetime stats, you open loot boxes to pimp out your characters with skins, voice lines, sprays, etc... There are votes for performance and also an endorsement system now. Well, we already gain badges for blogging, don't we? ;)

Where should the rewards be coming from... except for possible trade between players, some stats may be rewarded by distributed upvotes from the creators, although that requires a powerful account for them. Possible over time, of course. Creators may gain something as beneficiaries of certain after game content the sharing of which could bring split rewards...

In general, my wish would be for users to be able to gain something by playing. More for good performance, but also some portion for participation. Entry fee is fine as in all games we buy but a requirement to continually put in Steem for the chance to gain Steem is not what would keep me in a game. Sure, there may be that kind of tournament play.

The WoD project certainly looks interesting. And I found the idea of buying ads space on billboards across the game maps awesome.

Make this possible omg!

It would be pretty awesome wouldn't it :D

Never been into those since Doom in the 1990's but some of my buddies at university became very skilled at that type of games.

I used to be very, very good at GRAW as did one of my brothers and we would have a ball playing. I don't know how many hours I sank into GR and BF but I am pretty sure that if I had done it through a university, I would be a professor :D

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79