Quick Travel, Don't Leave Home Without It

in #gaming6 years ago

To me this is a must have staple in any game that has a map of a certain size. I might be the only one but I do not enjoy traveling from point-to-point, especially when they are points that I have already been to. Some games are large and when a lot of the gameplay is you traversing the map is slows down the experience.

Fallout does it really well. All you have to do is open your map, pick a point that you have been to (it has to be a city or point of interest) and bam you are there. I remember going traveling at the start so I could fill out my map to travel. Now it is not perfect, some points are too far apart and you need to go around things to get where you are going but still it is one of the best examples of the mechanic and it is something all games should use.

Then there are vehicles. These are good in old rpgs like blimps that let you quickly fly over the land. But if it is something on land that is not that faster than your feet, I'll still take quick travel. Maybe it is just me but I do not get taken out of the game when I do it, just am glad I do not have to waste 5 minutes to go somewhere I have already been.

You?

africa-15428_640.jpg

Sort:  

5minutes? Try half an hour to an hour with the system of "fast travel" that mmos like World of Warcraft have.

Fast travel indeed is the best perk we have to traverse long distances in open ended ganes in distances you already travel too and keep the pace of the game flowing.

Thanks for uploading this.

I love Fallout. It reminds of the good old days.

As much as exploration is part of the experience of games like Fallout and Breath of the Wild, quick travel is basically a necessity once the world map becomes too large. There's no reason to force your character to spend an hour walking, riding or driving from one point to another all the way across the map. And what's worse, if you spent that much time travelling and forgot something or were not prepared for the area, you'd break your controller in frustration.

Wind Waker suffered because quick travel wasn't implemented from the beginning, and while sailing in that game is interesting, it gets old and tedious quickly. Not sure if they fixed that in the HD remake on Wii U or not.

I look at google maps when i am bored.

or online marine traffic.

i am weird

Never heard about fallout I use Google Maps and net got any disappointment.

I like plotting a course to spots I have visited that bring me through uncharted territory, if this is not possible I will fast travel. But on subsequent play-throughs I am a fast traveling fiend and I will run around the map to create fast travel hubs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87