Fall Garden: Week 14, Fresh Stir-fry

in #garden5 years ago

20181204_170159~2.jpg

The garden's diversity is growing! Above, see the array of veggies I was able to harvest today. From bottom left: oregano, thai basil, blue lake beans, bunching onions, radishes, broccoli, swiss chard, bell pepper, serrano peppers.

After slicing and marinating the round steak in garlic, soy sauce, fish sauce, sweet n hot mango sauce, and the serranos, oregano and thai basil, I stir fried it at high heat until cooked. Then I added the firmer vegetables from my garden: the chard stems, radishes, bell pepper, and green beans.

20181204_182649~2.jpg

These became tender as I finished chopping the more delicate vegetables.

20181204_183342~2.jpg

Radish greens, broccoli florets, and chard greens compose the wilted green base of this stir fry.

20181204_183447~2.jpg

Once it looked like that, I covered it and turned the heat to low as the jasmine rice finished infusing. Garnished with chopped bunching onions that shocked me by taking the very longest to grow out of all of my entire kitchen garden, this dish felt warm, homey, and satisfying. Nomz!

20181204_185658~2.jpg

Dig in! Stir fried round steak strips in garden herbs and vegetables.

Create more care in the world today. Commit an act of random kindness and senseless beauty.

Love,cat

@creationofcare

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Sort:  

Yep, your garden looks amazing! I bet all of your meals are a bit tastier because of those freshly grown treats :)

It's wonderful planning a meal around them! Thanks for your kind words <3

Wow what a beautiful array of delicious homegrown veggies! Great harvest @creationofcare :)

I have yet to grow oregano successfully. I think I might have planted the seed at the wrong time of year!

Thanks, @gardeningchef! It's my first year back to gardening again. I have never had luck growing oregano from seed, I buy the mini starts. This oregano went to seed, however. And now I have a bunch of volunteers:)

That’s a bit reassuring to know you also haven’t had the best luck growing from seed, I will have to look at my local garden center and see if they have any seedlings. How lucky you have oregano volunteers now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71