Growing Things: Been A Few Weeks

in #garden5 years ago

With how things are growing these days I think an irregular posting for this might be in order. It will depend on how things change or not. With things starting to cool down somewhat I’ve been thinking if I want to try and expand on a couple of plants. The seasons down here are a bit different than other places in the country. Since moving here I’ve never seen snow for instance just the occasional light freeze in the early morning on the grass. So really my growing season can be extended if I wanted to.

Red Peppers

redpeppers.jpg

Between the couple weeks of break between postings on these the plant has grown at least 5 peppers again. Normally when I take a photo of these you never get to see everything that is growing on it. Since this plant is still refusing to fill line and is just so odd shaped I was able to find a point of view that allowed just that.

We have been getting a lot of rain these past few days. As such the leaves are all a bit odd on this one. Along with that some minor wind from the hurricane that hit the state. I’ve been far enough away that I just have had clouds for days now.

Some kind of leaf eater has moved onto this plant as we can see on the bottom leaves. Another caterpillar and I tossed him off into the woods where he belongs. Just strange they have an entire forest to eat and they dare come into my domain and pick my plants!!!!

Big Bertha

bigbertha.jpg

Two weekends ago I removed the last of the peppers that were on this plant and made stuffed peppers out of them. Since these were big enough to hold a few things I cut the tops off and stuffed them with cooked rice, hamburger, jalapeno, onion, and green peppers. Then I just cooked them for a while at 350 till the Big Bertha peppers where quite tender and looked ready to go. They were fanatics!

Now there already a small pepper growing back again. I have plans to cook the same thing with this one and I hope I get a few more before then. Maybe I’ll find some other stuff to toss into it between now and then. Always fun to mess around a little bit to find what you exactly want to eat.

Tomato

tomato.jpg

I don’t have any further hopes for this one for rest of the year. I might even get another plant to replace it. With how much water is being left in the bottom tray and the color of the vine I’m guessing it’s done as well. Granted I’m no expert I just would not expect it to be that color and not want water either.

Green Peppers

greenpepper.jpg

In almost no time flat of removing the last of them this one popped. The last of the green peppers were grilled up and put into a few different things. They were put into things shish kabobs, hobo hamburgers, tacos and so forth. They kick the pants off anything store bought just like the few times I’ve had some home grown peppers.

Jalapeno

jalapeno.jpg

21 of them yes. YES, 21 darn jalapenos!!!!! I thought you learned your lesson the last time I picked like a dozen off you. I know this plant can’t grow that many in a healthy way. In fact, some of them are just tiny and already turning red. As such, I’ll have to go through and remove at least a dozen. Not really sure what I’ll be doing with them they are rather tinny and might be more worth then worth in trying to use them.

I’m not a really hot spicy kind of eater. As such I prefer to remove the membrane and seeds leaving whatever I miss with enough spic that good enough for me. I could just eat them like popcorn with how big they are not. Maybe I’ll try and do something with popcorn with these who knows. That for another day to work out. When it stops raining I’ll think more on this.

Have a great Wednesday I hope some of you are still able to keep growing some stuff!

Information

Photos were taken by @enjar using a Photosmart M627.

enjarcatsig.png

Sort:  

first time i heard about jalapeno actually, i dont think we have them here

They would be considered around medium on scoville scale of 3,500+

I wonder if you have something like Serrano Pepper or something else there.

We have yea, all sort of, i am also planting some at home

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 138 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I made stuffed bell peppers last week but sadly they were not from my garden. Our summer just got too hot & humid for my plants to fair well. Especially with me as an owner. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72