Garden Update -- Rain Brings Growth Spurt

in #garden5 years ago

Over the weekend we had quite a bit of rain. Good for the garden, not so good for getting work done. Wasn't too good for the hanging baskets either as I didn't get a chance to water on Sunday and even with a bunch of rain they were wilting today. Good news is with a good watering they were perked back up by the time it got dark.

First up the zucchini and watermelon plants are starting to finally look like they weren't crammed into starter pots too long. Zucchini plants are starting to look like I remember them. Watermelon vines are starting to spread. Unfortunately so are the weeds. Going to have to do some weeding soon.

Tomato plants in the ground are getting bigger too. Still haven't got the cages on the cherry tomato plants on the other side of the garden. The one watermelon plant in the ground took off big time. I think it is even flowering.

Of course the cucumber plants are growing like crazy. Soon I will be trying to find cucumbers hiding down in the shrubs. I thought the one plant of the far left was a goner. It was so wilted today I didn't think it would make it. I looked out the window around 8:30 and it looked like nothing had ever happened to it. Should be used to that by now. It does it every day. Think it gets too much heat off the bricks near it.

I also managed to get the last 5 baskets hung up. Fixed a couple of pots that weren't draining and never had plants germinate in them. Stuck new seeds in them as well. Also put a layer of fresh potting mix in the top of my long green boxes and reseeded them. I must have preened them as nothing germinated in them. Not even a single green onion. Still plenty of time to get some.

That's it. It was a short day. Did that little bit and fed the birds. Lowe's and Walmart trip today so nothing but watering.

Cucumber total now at 82

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74