Do you Know What This is?

in #garden6 years ago

ae1aba23-59dd-44e0-8d9e-83433e3979fa.jpeg


Do you know what this is? I spied it in my garden today. Here are some hints.

  • It is a fruit.
  • It comes in many colors.
  • it doesn't grow in cold climates.
  • When ripe, it has a distinctive smell.

What is your best guess?


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Guava, most probably.

And you are most probably right!! Actually, you are right!!! Well done!! I am assuming you have them growing where you live? What kind do you have? This is a Mexican Guava which is yellowish on the outside and cream colored on the inside. Very tasty!!

Yes, we have several types of them. And this is very popular food here.
All of them are tasty.

I guess it's not an apple?

not an apple :)

A plant?

It is a plant - but which one?

I haven't asked the plant yet.
But I could call the plant: Meyer lemon =)

nope. Not a citrus :)

Are you growing durian fruit. I have never come in contact with it but I am told it is very smelly.

No, I am not. And I heard too that they stink!!

Hey, @mariannewest I can not say what it is, you tell me what is the result.

I will tell you - but let's first see if anyone can guess it :)

Our area is very warm so I have not seen any such fruit in our area.

It does grow in very warm areas.... Not so much in desert climates. More tropical heat.

Those leaves remind me of a quava or fig tree 🙂
But the stem is looking like a lychee. 🤔

It is one of them!! You are good!!! And your meme is coming tomorrow. My mind is on sleep right now lol

YaY 😁
I’m excited to see your meme as well.
Especially after a full nights sleep to come up with an excellent one. 🤩🤩🤩

I'm going to guess - Mango! :D Maybe.....

My partner is a horticulturist and is trying to rack his brain over this one! Hehe.

No, not mango :) go, brain, go - you can figure this out lol.
Someone already narrowed it down to 3. That might help...

He decided to go with fig! So I'll take his answer as my own, haha :D

nope. Now you have a 50/50 chance lol - there was a clue regarding the smell....

pineapple

No, sorry, not a pineapple :)

Pineapple ? they don't grow in trees ...

Yup, and their leaves are very different.

Is it beans?

no, beans are growing on a vine - this is a tree :)

Hmmm, I have no idea then. Is it a sort of fruit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78