Garden ideas for the fall

in #garden6 years ago

IMG_20180708_201354153.jpg

More storms in the east headed this way. It's hurricane season I guess. That makes the weather act all weird. Good for us up here, we could use the rain. I love the colors of the sunshine in the clouds in the evening.

I'm starting to more seriously consider what I'm going to do to help this soil. I'm considering a hay bale garden.

  1. It'll give us a raised bed to plant in the first season
  2. It'll compost down into good material for the soil.
    I think it'll work pretty well for us, and I'm going to try it. I might get some winter crops to plant and try this fall/winter. Some broccoli and other greens. Spinach would be cool.

I don't think our squash and cucumbers are going to produce this year. Haven't seen a single bee, and everyone else at work keeps bringing in their garden goods. Oh well, I learned what grows well here. Specifically not carrots.

The watermelon have started sprouting, so we should have watermelons... This fall. I know, I planted them super late. They got forgotten til I cleaned out the shop and found all my seeds that Melissa had put on my bench to get burried.

IMG_20180708_201425861.jpg

The cat is fattening up. I think we'll call her Kitty DeVille.

I wonder if it would work to make a hay bale garden in a rectangle and use the bales as the sides of a rabbit pen... Probably not feasible, but that's where my mind goes with things like this. Ooh! Let's combine all the ideas! I bet the rabbits would eat all the hay and be loose and gone in an instant. Punks. Unless I made a chicken wire barrier against the bales... Hmm.

Quick update for tonight. Gonna go read with the wife.

Stay relevant y'all

Nate

Sort:  

I love a good storm! We've only had one all summer here, and it sucks!

I think this will be our third or fourth since April. I guess we're in a drought here.

Honestly, I'm not even sure if it got to the house. When I took that, it was about 80 miles away (very roughly 120km). I stopped checking the radar after that and now there's not a single system on my radar app.

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined rules. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the latest post.

Laser eyed cats!



rsz_0616180909b.jpg



Akkk, I haven't even given fall crops a thought! Time is really getting away from me this season. I better spend some time working on that this weekend. 😬

Idk what fall crops even are, so you're doing good.

How do you harvest candy corn? 😂

I can think of lots of things to harvest in the fall, but harvesting candy corn is too much trouble.

If you can't get the kids to give it to you, you have to just take it. That usually upsets their parents who either want to fight or call the cops. Since I hate getting punched in the face and it's embarrassing to explain to a judge why I was harvesting candy corn, I've just given up on it. Besides, the one night a year that it's really available doesn't give me enough time to harvest enough to make it worth the effort.😏

😂😂😂

I meant to hilight my ignorance lol but you make a great point!

After the first three articles in Google about vegetables to plant in late summer, I have decided to retry carrots and to try onions and spinach.

Wonder if I can buy compost...

Hey @nateonsteemit, you just received a random 100% upvote for your activity at the @minnowsmith project! Stay tuned and keep mining. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13