My Zero Dollar Budget indoor Herb Garden is failing....

in #garden5 years ago

It is Winter here in Canada.

Cold and snowy.... Dark and Gray.... No Sunshine.

And after 4 weeks of trying to grow my Medicinal Herb plants in the window I have realized that due to lack of sunlight they have stopped growing and one plant is slowly turning yellow.

I tried a few regular LED light bulbs and even my Solar Powered LED Light bulb to provide more Light .... but they are not Full Spectrum and the plant’s are suffering.

3DD2A90F-58E9-4464-BF90-0EA927131D73.jpeg

So finally today I went and bought a Full Spectrum 9w Light Bulb and moved the plants away from the window and set up in my painting Studio. I will create a more permanent place for them this weekend. But we’ll see if I can revive them and get them growing again..... I will add more lights as they grow. These lights are $24.99 at Canadian Tire here in Canada.

ABED4BCF-AC1D-40D0-97D6-D1E47588DBD0.jpeg

DBAA0E28-CCE4-4449-93E0-10856B88774B.jpeg

9EFA1F82-58BC-43FF-9416-A2879A4C5ED5.jpeg

Sort:  

LED bulbs are very expensive. I suggest your try a few compact fluorescent lamps (the spirals) because they emit UV light too, which is needed by plants. Just don't stare at them for too long of course. Set them up in a corner where you won't be exposed. And remember, the vegetative stage should be kept under 18 hours of light per day and the rest in total darkness. When the plants are full grown, you can switch to 12 hours of light and 12 hours of darkness, thereby initiating the flowering stage. There's a lot to consider for growing indoors, best of luck.

Thanks ... great tips going to pick up those extra lights tonight.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I have been hit with the spirit of plants recently and am obsessed with them. I am new to growing plants, so I cannot comment on your strategy with authority but your strategy makes sense. Good luck!

$0 is the best way to go... I hope you harvest enough to make it all worthwhile at the end

Thanks... growing for the Medicinal CBD in the flowers ... helps reduce anxiety, stress etc....

Posted using Partiko iOS

Had a pretty good harvest from the summer garden to get me through the winter.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Poor babies.

Watching with interest as a grow op is in our plans for the new year. Is it ok to ask about seeds? The research online have reveiled some scary prices... a real Jack in The Beanstock situation. Got some during the Overgrow Canada 2017 Tour, but they were understandably so-so quality.

Yeah... I only have the Overgrow seeds from the last 2 years... trying to learn before I buy the expensive ones. I don’t think that we can “legally” buy seeds yet in Canada so I’m hoping I can do a trade with someone nearby who wants some Cannabis Ruderalis 10% CBD seeds.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very lucky me that living in Asia and full of sunshine. Hope your baby plants make it through.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Cool! Hopefully they start growing. I recently bought a couple of grow lights for my indoor plants. Too soon yet to see how they work, but these shine blue and red and are interesting, so say the least.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87