Growing plants from cuttingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #garden5 years ago (edited)

As part of adding many new plants to the landscape I am starting some cuttings of Butterflybush, Hydrangea and Salvia Greggii.

I am trying to different methods. One scraping off the bark from the bottom stems and the others just leaving them alone and putting them in water.

I did some trimming as the plant killed off some of its branches. I cut them off to help the plant save energy.

The Oak leaf hydrangea has some fuzzy leaves, they seem to be doing well.

I got to pour out the water sometimes as mosquito larva moves into the water.. I dont think they harm the plants but I dont want to create homes for them.

I got alot of Salvia Greggi cuttings.. but seems maybe half of them have survived. I may have exposed the cuttings to too much light but luckily I still have about a dozen cuttings alive. Hope the rest pull through.

The smell of opening the package of salvia was amazing.. the sage like smell was overwhelming. They were shipped from Cali so I think they got kind of cooked on the way via snail mail.

Nothing has formed roots yet but I hope to see some in a few weeks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

great idea

@o4wx thank you.. I think so too

Posted using Partiko Android

Good luck with growing these and a good idea to change the water regularly we dont need more mosquitos around

@tattoodjay thanks alot, if they all take I should have a few dozen starter plants. Yeah I try to change the water once a week as they do try to move in.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lets hope they all take that would be so cool

Good luck growing!

@ludmila.kyriakou thanks much.. the salvia gregii seems to be having the most trouble. Not sure if the cuttings should be in part sun before they root or not.

Posted using Partiko Android

When I root cuttings, I never put them in the sun.
I put them where daylight falls without sunlight.
And where there is no draft.

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 6.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.585 which ranks you at #6293 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 6300).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 154 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17