Sort:  

Oh, those tomatoes look soooo nice! I have to get a greenhouse!

Yes, a greenhouse really gives you a headstart on the warm weather plants like tomatoes and peppers. Even if you move them outside when the warm weather comes, they're still bigger and nicer than they would be without the greenhouse.

Those tiny strawberries, a promise of taste explosion.

Sorry I’m so late to read your post. I had a rough week last week.

Your tomato plants look awesome... and just like mine, lol.
I’ll try to get a greenhouse post up tomorrow, then I can show you how alike it looks :0)

I wonder if o could make the strawberry planter and use my wild strawberries. It would have to be next year, but I wonder 🤔
Your tomatoes look great to me. Mine are still smallish.
Okay the watermelon plant, is that like a real watermelon in the store type or what???

I don't see any reason why you couldn't grow wild strawberries in a vertical planter, they should do well, I would think.
The watermelon plants produce a small watermelon that's supposed to be about the size of a grapefruit or a muskmelon. I decided to try this variety because they turn yellow when they get ripe. That way I know they're ripe. :-)

Cool! I hope the melons work for you and grow plentiful!

Okay, i'll admit up front that I feel a twinge of jealousy seeing your greenhouse and experimental planting methods. Good for you!

Wow, @amberyooper! Looks like a wonderful space to be in. Way to go for figuring out what to do with your strawberries.

That Early Girl looks happy!

Yeah, the Early Girl plant is doing really well! I'm waiting to see how long it is before I get the first ripe tomato from it. :-)

Thank you for sharing @amberyooper! Your greenhouse looks great, and I really admire your efforts on your garden. I used to do lots of gardening but easy up a bit now. Now, I mostly have flowers, few yellow squash, zucchini, an some volunteer tomatoes. Tomatoes are doing quite well. Enjoyed looking at your photos. Keep up the good wok!

Wow! you can totally tell the difference between getting your stuff going early in a greenhouse vs just planting it in May like I do. My tomato plants are no where near as nice looking as yours. They are coming along though. I plan on posting about them today. Thanks for sharing this great post. Looks like you are going to have a nice haul this season!

Thank you!
Yeah, the greenhouse tomatoes are way ahead of my outside tomato plants. The only challenge with tomato plants in the greenhouse is pollination. The bees don't go in the greenhouse, so I have to shake the plants like the wind would if they were outside to get the flowers to self pollinate. I've found that it works better on some types of plants than others. The heirloom beefstake type tomatoes don't pollinate so easy in the greenhouse. The paste types seem to be easier to pollinate, and the Early Girl plants are a good choice for the greenhouse, they pollinate pretty easily.

Awesome! I just have some cherry tomatoes going. I am not a big fan of tomatoes in general, but I eat them because I know they are good for me. My favorite is Roma, but I have never been able to get them to grow consistently.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72