Does Honey Work As A Routing Hormone?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago

8 Weeks ago, I took some cuttings from my privet hedge using honey as a rooting hormone instead of synthetic products.

1.jpg

When I took the cuttings 8 weeks ago I dipped the soft wood end of my cuttings into honey to act as a rooting hormone to help them on their way to becoming plants that next year I could add to my garden.

I placed the cuttings all together in a polystyrene container with about a 4 inch gap between each cutting.

2.jpg

Before I got started I decided to get some pots ready for the transfer if they had roots.

I got my potting table together and added a good rich compost to it.

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

Once I had all my pots filled with compost I gave each of them a little water so that I could pop the plants in and they would be happy in their new homes.

I then came to the cuttings and it was a good sign from the get go, as I gently pulled on the cuttings it felt like they were in there tight, I knew then that they had roots on the bottom.

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

12.jpg

13.jpg

8 Weeks ago I took 24 cutting, today when I was planting them in pots I had 18 cuttings that had made it through, I would have probably had more cuttings but my little boy a month ago decided that it was time for some of them to come out of the pot early.

I popped them all in pots and gave them a pat down to make sure they were snug in the new compost they were in.

14.jpg

I was so happy that they had come this far with the use of honey, I will be using it again on other plant cuttings as these were a great plant to try it on.

I have used honey recently and that was on lavender, I am hoping that they have the same results as these as that would be really amazing.

@artonmysleeve

Sort:  

O: That's so amazing! I am totally going to try that. Thanks for the tip!

no worries, I have also read that spit can also do the same, don't know if it is true or not but I am going to give it a try at some point. :D

Do let us know the outcome of that experiment. XD

Never tried honey.

Would be interesting to try a side by side trial - honey v commercial rooting product v nothing at all...

That's a good idea, I have read that with commercial hormone it works faster by 4 weeks. so it has took me 8 weeks to get these roots but i would have had the same in 4.
I don't like the idea of having synthetic root my plants, well on the ones we will be eating, I have no idea what they have put in it.
with honey I know where that has come from which makes it 100% times better for me.
I know that the honey has taken 4 weeks longer but it is also 5 times cheaper than commercial. :D

Quite agree on the commercial hormone stuff.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

@artonmysleeve You have received a 100% upvote from @steemconductor because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.604 which ranks you at #6176 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 114 contributions, your post is ranked at #21.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25