Planting Onions, Shallots, Potatoes and Greens

in #gardening5 years ago

image

Red Onion bulbs ready for planting, and today was a perfect day for just that.

image

Red Onions, White Onions and Yellow Shallots. Not sure why I hadn’t planted any last year, but this year we will have Onions and Shallots.

image

Arugula sprouts beginning their lives inside the greenhouse.

image

Garlic continues to get bigger and bigger out on the hugel mound. I’m excited to see the results! Won’t be ready for harvest for a little while, then to dry for a period of time.

image

Three hugel mounds where I had great success with potatoes last year, I will see onions and Shallots grow this year. Mixed in with them will be a plentitude Of lettuces and spinachs. Asparagus down the middle on the left mound.

image

Green Peas! They’ve popped! Always one of the earlier sprouting plants, they’re proof that the peas I saved and dried last year for planting, had indeed survived and worked as planned.

Very excited to have some fresh green peas!

image

Dropped potatoes of the Yukon Gold type into the other half of the row the green peas are planted in. Had just enough room for all the seed potatoes and with a decent depth of soft dirt, I expect some more excellent results with the taters. Hype.

image

Lessons learned.. don’t leave containers and others objects out in the Winter weather. Frost heaving and ice wedging can destroy clay or ceramic containers, kind of obvious.

image

My lovely son, James, showing us the “I’m making a poopy” face. He had another wonderful day out in the great outdoors. Wrapped up with mom in her baby backpack, he snoozed for a good bit and even got to eat outdoors! Lucky guy.

He’s not always cross eyed! Man am I blessed. Life is good.

Lots more to get done, each day is a great opportunity to prepare.

I pray to Heavenly Father. Take care y’all.

Sort:  

Looks like you are off to a great start this spring.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I like to say to my friends outside of Steem, who comment things of how impressed they are with my garden, “If you plant it. It will grow”. Lol not always, but that’s what it simply takes. The time to put the seeds in the ground most people just walk away..

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh wow. This is so impressive. I was just thinking that I should grow some onion or shallots. I might have to head out and grab some bulbs. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Amazing how cheap they’re sold from the greenhouse... and the return at the end of the grow.. it’s 10 fold!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh really?! Do you sell them at markets?

Posted using Partiko iOS

To be honest, this being my second year of gardening, I haven’t even considered taking produce to market. Iv been able to sell my extra food to my friends to aide in the consumption of it all.

But market is something I have on my mind, there are several farmers markets around my town. Just haven’t really thought about taking stuff in there yet.

Hello @biffybirdcam, vegetable growing is such a pleasure isn't it? So are having gorgeous little babies in our lives.

I feel incredibly blessed. Grateful for every moment, every thing. Life is beautiful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking good so far you should do well this year.

You are a little more confident this season. Which should get you better results.

Enjoy

Posted using Partiko iOS

Just a little more confident... with the experience of one year haha!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.951 which ranks you at #11387 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 188 contributions, your post is ranked at #99.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87