Variety is the Spice of Life In the Garden Too!

in #gardening5 years ago

IMG_1225.jpg

Tomato seedlings are beginning to pop in the little greenhouse at the garden.. the time draws near, when these little shoots will be given a chance at longer life this season, or cut at the stem for being too weak. This year, I won't be over crowding my tomato plants.

It would appear that the tomatoes I had been gifted by a colleague last season, which I seeded to be able to grow this year, had also worked well. Many viable seeds putting forth their best effort to begin this seasons duties. The levels of excitement have not faded yet! With all these new species of tomatoes to grow.. It's like a whole new ball game for enjoyment! So much observation to be done this season once more! These tomatoes will be much different than the two species I planted last year..

I'd venture to say I am planting up to 10 species of tomato this year, some from seed, and some transplants from the greenhouse down the road. We are also planting a bunch of different peppers of the sweet and Hot kind, and three different kinds of beans.

IMG_1206.jpg

A purple pepper would be interesting to consume.

IMG_1210.jpg

King of the North bell peppers.

IMG_1213.jpg

Black Cherry tomatoes.

IMG_1211.jpg

Giant Marconi Peppers.

IMG_1214.jpg

Lemon Boy tomatoes.

IMG_1217.jpg

Long thin Cayenne Peppers.

IMG_1215.jpg

San Marzano, Cherokee Purple and Pineapple tomato varieties. A plum shaped, purple colored and bi colored tomato respectively. As you can deduce, I went for the different odd ball varieties this time.. since I have all the traditional red tomatoes growing in our little greenhouse.

IMG_1218.jpg

Ghost pepper. Once the hottest in the world.. I kept this one away from the rest.. don't want to cross pollinate.

IMG_1220.jpg

Hot Portugal and Serrano hot peppers. Lots of spice.. since growing the jalapenos last year, and experiencing their almost nauseating heat... I wanted to try some others and experience their heat and pain. Not sure about the ghost pepper however.. may just use that in a repel spray for the deer.

IMG_1221.jpg

Threw some lavender in between the sweet peppers to bring in the bees.

IMG_1222.jpg

Tumbling Tom yellow cherry tomatoes. The cascading branches will be a neat sight around the pool.

IMG_1219.jpg

@kelsnm getting in the action re-potting an Aloe Vera plant. We will bring that one indoors come cold weather again.

I would love to see how large we could grow this..

IMG_1208.jpg

Baby boy needs a quick change. James is apparently a fan of the outdoors. Which is a great start.

IMG_1223.jpg

Planted up around the pool all the tomatoes and sweet peppers, and planted the hot peppers along the fence. Hopefully that strategy will keep the walking garden destroyers at bay.. if they chomp down on a hot pepper.. I hope they don't enjoy the heat is all..

IMG_1209.jpg

Cherry trees always the first to bloom around here. The beautiful cycle of life. So much energy being used to produce all those flower petals just for them to fall right off and wither away.

IMG_1224.jpg

Perennial flowers along the fence are my indicator of how well I am doing.. they are like the slow tick timer of nature. Reminds me when to begin planting.

Bronco Beans, Lima beans and Pole beans planted in the worked soil beds along the fence. Zucchini and cucumber were also planted along the fence and down in the farm plot along the metal wire fencing. Sunflowers were mistakenly planted in the first bed here at the fence gate.

IMG_1226.jpg

I feared I planted my onions and shallots wrong.. but fear not, for they are sprouting! Everything I had seen online showed the bulbs above the surface of the dirt... which I found odd. But nonetheless my bulbs were planted below the dirt and they look to be growing fine. Tough to spot, but the little green spikes are there mixed in with the brown of the dirt.

Still yet more to be done. I am grateful for every moment.

I pray to heavenly Father. Take care y'all!

Sort:  

You're garden looks great pretty sure a lot of work went into it, kinda jealous. I'd love to start getting my hands dirty more often

I am grateful to even have the opportunity. Like I said, this could all change in a heartbeat.. so I will cherish the time I have to be able to do these things.

A lot of labor definitely went in to creating all of this.. but I simply remain grateful.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Didn't realise there were so many types of tomatoes and will be interesting how differently they all taste. You have a lovely garden and those cherry trees are superb. Looking forward to see how your garden fairs this year.

There were many many more species at the greenhouse nursery I bought them at.. perhaps 30 varieties or more they had available already growing..

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am drooling just at the variety of plants you have there.
You will have a wonderful harvest. Everything looks perfect and healthy.
All those peppers and tomatoes! Yummy.
Beautiful place you have. Blessing, especially with that little one there. The best place to grow up in. love, flowers, and trees.
Hopefully, he'll love gardening too.

Just the beginning of this season and my boys life! I hope he will enjoy this too.. I pray.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Looking fantastic!
You can never have to many tomatoes.
Last year our grape tomatoes were our best producing ones.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I’m real excited about all the different species! I wonder the taste for each respective color.

Had those cherry tomatoes last year, this year it’s those and many more !

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is really impressive there are so many different sorts of tomatoes, I have never thought of. I love tomatoes and as children I remember we were the whole summer chasing the red ones to be first to pick them up me and my three sisters. It is good you have labels of tomatoes too, I believe the leaves may look alike. I love the smell of tomato plants, may be because it reminds me my childhood. You are lucky to have so big garden and it is clever to use it to grow yourself all possible vegetables. It must be real delicious and you as a gardener will be proud of harvest in Autumn. You baby is also seems enjoying sunny day outside. Must be busy to deal with garden, household and little baby.

Well thank you! That was the plan this year, to try all sorts of different tomatoes and peppers. Last year was an excellent tease since I had only really grown two peppers and two tomatoes... this year is different.

I am grateful for every opportunity given that allows us to do what we do here... ya never know when that could change.

I don’t know if I’d be able to get all this done without the help of my partner @kelsnm. She’s an excellent mother, top notch!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Wow! It looks like you all are putting the work in for sure. It is going to be so amazing when all of that starts producing. So far this season, we don't have much. Lettuce is going for sure, and some herbs. This is our first season in Northern Michigan. Nice work, Be well.

We invite you to use the community tag #innerblocks, and join us on the best Self Reliant Dapp on the blockchain

Another user on steem, @galenkp has the saying “Design and create your own life”... well ironically I think of that from time to time when doing all this.

I say myself, can’t grow what you don’t plant. And so I plant in abundance. Iv always loved nature, and had this satisfaction from observation all my life.. so gardening made sense. Especially in terms of saving money on sky rocketing food prices.

I do have a degree in Earth Science.. Iv always enjoyed the raw power of nature, now I can see her beauty too, in the minute designs.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is put so beautifully

Iv always enjoyed the raw power of nature

I really like coltivating and eating my vegetables, be ause I can taste something of real!!!
Congratulations and if you want, send me some tometoes during the Summer 😉👍
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi biffybirdcam,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.035 which ranks you at #10617 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 65 places in the last three days (old rank 10682).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 177 contributions, your post is ranked at #15.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @biffybirdcam! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02