Harvesting Home Grown Jalapeños

in #gardening6 years ago

I am a big fan of jalapeno peppers and add them to many things, such as nachos, burritos, tacos, pizza, etc.

While I do like them when they are “pickled” as they are when you buy them in jars or get them at a restaurant, I am also a big fan of having them raw or roasted. One of my favorite things is making cream cheese stuffed jalapenos in the oven… so good!

I have been growing some jalapenos in my garden this year, with limited success. I purchased a baby jalapeno plant that was already growing, and put in an area that gets mostly indirect sunlight and is watered by my sprinklers 3 times per week. I have had some problems with the growing jalapenos falling off before they are fully ready to pick due to leaf blowers, wind and balls smacking into them.

I had a couple that were ready to pick this weekend, so I got to enjoy them. I cut one in half and added cheese on top of it, and melted the cheese and jalapeno together and ate it by itself… delicious! My wife also made a spicy thai chicken dish in the crock pot, where you start with a layer of rice and then add layer on the chicken and sauce. I spiced mine up even more by adding some jalapenos to the rice first – this also turned out great!

33CB98E0-E7F6-4FB3-9AA0-4861E336D589.jpeg

47762034-1499-422A-9866-2A11076B8F5B.jpeg

Do you like to grow any particular vegetables or fruits?

Thanks for reading,

Brian

Sort:  

I have a very bland Midwest palate so spicy just isn't my thing. But cheers to you for taking the initiative to grow jalapeños on your own. They look great!

Thanks my friend. Always good to hear from you!

I really like Jalapeño. It is almost like Tabasco in the sense that it enhances the flavor as opposed to some spices that become overwhelming.

Roasting them in the oven is something I will have to try - sounds delicious.

I started growing chili this summer but with limited success. I need to give it another try soon and add a Jalapeño plant as well :)

Good idea... give it another try and add the jalapeño plant 👍🏻

Hello Friend how are you? Chile jalapeños very good and if they are grown at home much better, I could not grow anything at home for lack of space but growing our own vegetables is wonderful.

Jalapeño peppers are very spicy, so they are usually used very little in the dishes and in small quantities. However, the properties of jalapeño pepper for health are many, so it is advisable to include it in our dishes at least a couple of times a week.

Hi Brain i know it's good feelings to growing favourite fruits and vegetables in own garden, i also like gardening and growing lot's of fruits and vegetables like Apple, pear, grape, fig, strawberry amd onion, potatoes, cucumber, gourd, tomatoes, chilli etc.

Some photographs

20180627_132754.jpg

20180619_164947.jpg

20180619_164740.jpg

Nice work, and healthy looking plants! Thanks for sharing!

wow,my dear friend.. @brian.rrr how are you? i hope that,you are better today.i appreciating your every post.because its always perfect and original.i like gardenning very much.its my hobby. Jalapeño peppers have a rich flavor and enhance the taste of other foods that we like to be their most intense flavor.i am growing alots of fruits and vegetables,flower my garden.i have a three garden my house inside and outside..i am really encouraging to see your jalapeno peppers..thanks to sharing for your great post..very well done..take care yourself and best of luck of your great work.may god bless you and your family.my best wishes anytime with you.i wish that you always stayed live long happily.. my deae friend.. @brian.rrr

Jalapeños are good in salsa and nachos. I mostly like to grow basil.

Friend, how are you? how is your family? your children are very big and beautiful I see that you cultivate at home and that is very good the best fresh vegetables are the ones grown by oneself, I love the spicy but I have not tried jalapeño chiles I do not know if in Venezuela I can find them I will be finding out I'm sorry I have been but I do not forget my friends, blessings to your family.

This is a good read here. Growing your own plants and harvesting them to eat in your own home so you don't have to go to a grocery store just gives you that good proud feeling that you did it all by yourself.

My papa used to grow vegetables in his garden. He went from tomato's, potato, cucumbers, squash, corn and probably other things that i don't remember. Most of the time, it wouldn't turn out the way that we hoped it would. There would be squirrels that eat the plants before they need to be harvested. The wind blowing them and knocking the plants down. I'd say about half of the plants that he grew didn't make it. But the ones that did make it, they were delicious.

Jalapeno peppers are one of my favorite peppers. Just like you i like them pickled for certain things like nachos. But i love them raw more. They are hotter, and you have that crunch that gives you that satisfaction of eating a delicious pepper.

Jalapeño peppers have a rich flavor and enhance the taste of other foods that we like to be their most intense flavor. That rice looks exquisite, these chili peppers, jalapeños also have a lot of health benefits. thanks for sharing and you are privileged to be able to grow your jalapeños, greetings @ brian.rrr

Stuffed jalapeños, this must be delicious, I like planting, it's a process of great expectation, currently at home I'm working some bushes of parsley, cilantro, onion, especially for the consumption of my meals, I make my own fertilizer and it really goes great, I love the results, I just love the results, only at home is consumed in quantity and is spent a lot, but I'm really grateful to have this blessing at home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82