EDIBLES and ORNAMENTALS in Brisbane GARDENS

Morning steemers,
Yesterday the work ute broke, I suspect the transmission is gone and will be getting towed to a workshop today. Fingers crossed its worth fixing so I'm not off the road for too long. Today I have decided to share a mixture of Edible and Ornamental landscapes from gardens I care for...........Hope you enjoy!

brompoteddowes.jpg
This Bromeliad in a large expensive pot makes a great statement at the entry of this property. It requires very little maintenance and a small amount of filtered sunlight. This particular property is a constant working progress as their dog keeps ripping up the irrigation :-)

rosaflor.jpg
From the same property as the above image these Rosa floribunda 'iceberg' (Iceberg Roses) completely fill the fence line. The Bromeliad may be low maintenance but R. floribunda is rather high maintenance, having said that they are probably the easiest Rose to grow for our climate in Brisbane.

Xan.jpg
I have shared pictures of this Xanthorrhoea sp. (Grass Tree) before but never with its flower spike present, I will return to this property tomorrow and hopefully it is covered in Native Bees.......stay tuned :-)

Finally I will leave you with a "Vegetable Patch" that is a working progress but starting to come along nicely:
eggkent.jpg
Solanum melongena (Egg Plant) starting to provide some food.

kentbasil.jpg
Ocimum basilicum (Sweet Basil) is a must have for any vege patch in my over-opinionated opinion. Not only is it a great addition to most meals it is also a great companion plant for plants in the Solanaceae (Nightshade) family such as: Tomato, Eggplant etc etc.

Thanks again to anyone who read this and feel free to leave suggestions for content in the comments!
Happy gardening,
Sam.
brizhorticulture-2 (2)VC.jpg
DQmaUNt1gVETZXCNQTMAeQvE48GAa7KHa9cQa3jjgzPnpAq.gif

Sort:  

More tips on Iceberg rose maintenance? I have one, it is bullet-proof but I can't figure out what to do with the pruning

Can't figure out how to prune them or how to dispose of pruned material?
Yes they are hardy but definitely not "bullet proof" here in Brisbane. They are still prone to Blackspot and aphids constantly chew at the fresh growth. Regular pruning of infested or damaged material usually keeps them healthy but I do have to resort to chemical control at times.

Mine survived 10 years of neglect in very little soil and were practically smothered by the jasmine. They do get plenty aphids, which I spray occasionally and black spot at this colder time of year if it rains.

I didn't prune them too heavily last year because they were in poor condition with long, spindly stems and I had disturbed the roots too but I intend to prune them right back in July because I think that they could withstand it now. I noticed that they made long, massive stems this year, almost as if they prefer to be climbers. Could I train them along the fence or would this be bad for their health?

I would treat them the same way if they were mine but these fancy formal gardens I work in expect healthy pest and disease free Roses haha.

You could train them to grow along a fence but definitely wouldn't be the best for their health. Where I live we prune them hard in winter.
The main thing I think with Roses is airflow......they hate high humidity!

I'll bear that in mind, thanks!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-14T21:57:33
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 325.20/200.00
Total Photos: 52
Total comments: 25
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29