Making room in the garden for the newcomers [Gardening]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

20180612_150004 (1).jpg

Today is the day I spent some time in the #garden bringing my #potted plants out to have a final resting place nestled between the other #veggies growing outside.

For some reason my potted plants have been getting cranky lately. I grow my plants from #seed, and I am still learning, so they may not look as strong as starts you buy from a store that grew plants from clones in a greenhouse. My plants aren't dying, but they aren't #growing very fast either. They are like little pets demanding I let them go outside so they can play with their friends. So I am giving in today, and letting them have their way. It is summer after all.

I started with this little #pepper #plant above, growing in this ridiculously small plastic pot.

20180612_145929.jpg

This little space in my grow bag is where it will be planted. Next to the wild #arugula.

20180612_145929.jpg

Tapping out my favorite Latin rhythms, I gingerly removed the pepper pot to view the roots. Looks like that bottom #root was looking for deeper direction to go.

20180612_150106 (1).jpg

After digging a #hole and situating the pepper inside, I tamp down the #soil around it to blend it into the surroundings. I try my best to keep the plant at the same stem level to the ground as before, and keep it upright.

20180612_145619.jpg

Here is my next hole I dug up for another plant to go inside, between the arugula and #coriander.

20180612_145628.jpg

This little #banana-pepper has plenty of root space, but hasn't been getting enough true sunlight, heat, and nutritious soil to spread out in.

20180612_145748.jpg

Let's hope it grows stronger in its new home.

20180612_150120.jpg

Here is a #Brussels-Sprouts plant that I started indoors. It's been living in the garage with my other starts for the past few months, and it just looks a bit tired of being looked up in the dark room to me. I try to keep the garage door opened as much as possible, but it just isn't the same as a growing in a sunny summer garden space.

20180612_150431.jpg

Now it will be growing here amongst the arching #peas

20180612_150710.jpg

This one, like my cover photo above is a #poblano-pepper. Hopefully planting it here will help this sparse looking grow bag fill out with new life.

20180612_150838.jpg

Again, this one has some shrimpy #roots. The #compost soil should really allow these roots to swell up with the beefy strength it will need to one day grow pepper #fruits.

20180612_150936.jpg

And there it is.

Growing beside the #Roma-tomato, the large stem of an old Brussels Sprouts plant, #flowering arugula, #cilantro (another name for coriander), #vetch, and some cut #clover.


BONSAI!

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Account Value: $2,615.79Votes Given / Received: 2737 / 3830
SP: 1,604.119Posts / Comments: 196 / 1240
STEEM / SBD: 0.631 / $6.463Delegated In / Out: 0 / 0
REP: 62.417Followers: 1,452 / 160 following
Curation Rewards: 1.615 SPAuthor Rewards SP / S / SBD: 0.710 / 0 / 0

STEEM In / Ex = 1.834 / 1.57658BTC / ETH/ LTC = 6290 / 470 / 93.3
SBD = 1.25986Gold/Silver oz. = 1,296.15 / 16.88

Value of Currencies in USD $ on this Day


No time to dawdle. There's a million things to do today. Get crackin'!

Sort:  
Loading...

I hope they do well and they love there now setting. You never have overcrowding issues? One thing I need to look into one day is how dense you can pack things in. Perhaps it’s not even a thing to worry or think about and I’m just over thinking things.

This year I have been adopting a very crowded strategy.

We'll see it if affects the hungrier plants I grow like tomatoes, peppers, sunflowers, and brussels sprouts. All the other herbaceous and leafy plants seem to love it so far.

For some reason all my seeds are sprouting better in the crowded beds than they are in the sparse bed. I think the other plants help protect young sprouts from pests. In some cases, they also help to prop up weak stems to grow more upright towards the sun.

Lovely photos. Very well done post. I haven't been real active gardening for several years and never used grow bags. Do you like them more than pots or planter boxes? also looks like you have an arugula salad waiting to happen :)

I like anything that is inexpensive. Never felt the urge to spend $100 on materials to build something that will rot away or break in a few years. These grow bags are going on year three at least, and I can always replace them inexpensively.

Cool. I googled a bit and looks like they also have some advantages. Good luck with your plantings.

I'm trying to grow my pepper too, it's still not very successful, but will keep trying...

Good for you. I'm having a lot of trouble with pumpkin and turnips this year. Hopefully sunnier weather will make things easier.

My pumpkins are not seeding and kept dying on me, a total disaster for me too...

They all look so healthy and strong! You are going to have such a lovely harvest in the coming months. Our germination is really bad in the recent years. But I'd love to grow brussels-sprouts . They are delicious. What is a banana pepper? Never heard of it here in SA

I think they just call it that because it is a standard yellow pepper when it is ripe. Less spicy, more mild. Sometimes they are called wax peppers because the yellow is a pale translucent color.

Interesting! I didn't know that

Well done @creativetruth! You successfully guessed the match result.

RUS - SAU
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10