First Grapes of the Year!

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0386.JPG


Just tasted a couple of these home-grown grapes, straight from the vine. I picked the ones that were fully exposed to the sun and they were delicious! It's not really time to mick them yet, but I just couldn't help myself, since a lot of them looked really great already.

Our grape vine has suffered a lot this summer, we're dealing with mites and possibly another unidentified disease. Coming Winter, I'll have to remove all the bark from the vines ans treat them with herbicide (preferably a non-toxic one). It's a little bit too late to start any treatment now, our harvest will be a little bit less than usual, but this doesn't affect the quality of the grapes themselves.

IMG_0377.JPG

We're also dealing with a plague of wasps here in Belgium. They definitely like to eat these grapes, since they're already pretty sweet. In the picture above, you also see that a few bunches are completely dried out. I'm not completely sure what the cause of this might be, but I'll fix it next year...

IMG_0375.JPG

It's pretty obvious the we just have too many bunches hanging here as well, you notice that some of the grapes aren't even fully formed yet. This whole vine desperately needs to be maintained a lot better.

Still, we're expecting to get harvest around 50 - 75 KG of grapes this year. I'll post a picture of the full harvest in a couple of weeks!


Check out Mannabase if you want to receive a free basic income

Receive free Litecoins every 5 minutes

Get FREE basic income through Swiftdemand

Join STEEMFOLLOWER to gain more exposure on STEEMIT

The 4 links above are referral links and support this blog


Sort:  

Do you have a grape vine in your garden? I have an Apple tree but that's quite different. They look great, I love grapes.

They definitely my favorite fruit and we have more than we can eat :)

Glad to read even with the problems you will still get a good sized crop, sounds like a lot of work you have ahead to treat the vines after the harvest

Yeah, they're also pretty large given the fact that I've not trimmed the vine too much.

Wow. How very cool. Grapes are exotic where I live :)

I do have a date palm, which is exotic to many. The dates are nice and full and will probably be ready in a month or so. I really have no idea as I don't like dates, but the birdies and lizards really like them so I'm hoping for a good crop.

Thanks for a wonderful post.

De blauwe druiven van jullie zien er zeker beter uit dan die van ons. Die van ons zijn te klein gebleven, maar wij hebben misschien een andere soort. Wij hebben een pitloze blauwe druif, dus die blijven altijd al wat kleiner ... en onze druiven geven nu pas voor het tweede jaar, ze zijn nog jong! Ook wij hebben zeker last van wespen op de druiven ... Onze pitloze witte druif doet het overigens veel beter als de blauwe.

WIj hebben ook nog een witte druif staan, maar daar hebben we nog nooit van kunnen oogsten. DIe blijven klein en hard, zijn echt oneetbaar. Deze blauwe druiven hebben pitten, maar zijn zo klein dat ik het bijna niet merk. Weet niet welke soort het juist is, maar ze worden elk jaar beter en beter.

Wow, those look really tasty! Thanks for sharing pictures of what is going on with your grapes! I think it would be fun to grow grapes. What do you plan to do after you harvest them? Grape jelly! Yum!! Can't wait to see a final harvest post. They make such pretty pics!

Yeah I think we'll make jelly out of them and also eat a lot of course ;-)

Very nice! Looks like you did better an us! Birds got to most of ours and only left the less good ones... But we did manage to get a decent haul of blackberries!

Very nice! I just got home from a long vacation and I am pretty sad to see the state of my garden. It sounds like you will pull in a decent haul for the year though. It might not make you a bunch of wine, but I don't feel like it is anything to be sad about.

Are you going to eat these or make wine out of them? It would be such a waste to just eat them. 🍾🍷😵

nice photo and awesome blog..thanks for share..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28