I May Have Done Just A Little Too Much!

in #gardening6 years ago

I’ve been up most of the night in pain. I kinda’ did it to myself by over doing “it”. Actually, I’ve been overdoing it for a little while. Was totally worth it though! I had gone on a couple of walks which started “it”. Then I was looking at my garden and it really needed to be weeded so that’s what I did. I’m not done but I definitely made a dent in it. I took some photos to show the progress but keep in mind that I’m not done. Truth be told, my husband says I’m done but I don’t listen very well..lol!
I’m going to show after photos first and before photos second. I know it doesn’t look like much but it took me three days to do what is shown and I still ended up pushing myself just a little too far.

This is one side of the front garden after weeding…
mygardenfrontafter1.jpg
This is how it looked before…
mygardenfrontbefore1.jpg

This is the other side of the front garden…
mygardenfrontafter2.jpg
This is how it looked before…
mygardenfrontbefore2.jpg

This is by the little Japanese Maple tree in the front…
mygardenfronttreeafterusefirst.jpg

mygardenfronttreeafter.jpg
This is the before photo…
mygardenfronttreebefore.jpg

Here is the side of the house after before I called it a day…
mygardensideafter1.jpg

mygardensideafter2.jpg
This is how it looked before…
mygardensidebefore2.jpg

mygardensidebefore1.jpg

See! Totally worth it! Like I said, I’m not done yet and I want to put some mulch down as well. We’ve gotten so much rain here that has been a good thing and a bad thing but it is what it is. Made pulling those weeds a lot easier but it is also pretty muddy. Hmm, pretty muddy could be an oxymoron (I think)?! I meant to tell you that the Hostas in my front garden were given to me by my mother many years ago. They were so little and just look at them now!
mygardenhostasbeforecloseup.jpg
Here is a close-up!
mygardenhostascloseup.jpg

We also bought some lavender plants to plant around the garden. They are still in the pots though and the pots are sitting in the garden still. I may have to have my husband put them in the ground. I took lots of photos of them but here is one for now! 😉mygardenlavender.jpg

That’s all for now! If I finally get the sides finished and mulched out then I’ll post an update with photos ..of course! 😊

steemusadeerjay.png

thealliancelogofromalliance.png

Sort:  

You had some nice milk weed in the before shots. :-)

Thanks @manorvillemike! Yep, had to pull some of it but still plenty in the yard. I like to keep some around for the Monarch butterflies. ;)

Cool that was my thoughts.

You put a lot of work in, understandably your a bit sore, but as you say it was well worth it

Thanks @tattoodjay!! Was totally worth it! 😊

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

The hostas can breathe and stretch their legs again! Take a break deer, you deserve it.

Thank you @edthecanadian!! Hopefully, I'll be back out there in a couple days! ;)

My house looked like that a few years ago and I've spent the past couple of years shipping away at it laying down the anti weed matting and the mulch and trying to stay on top of the weeds before they get out of control.

It's easy to overdue it once you get started on something like that. Just remember slow and steady wins the race and beautiful Japanese maple. We have one in our front yard as well.

Thanks so much @gniksivart!! It is hard to stop once started and I tried pacing myself but the side garden got me..of course the couple of walks didn't help either..lol. Awesome to hear you have a Japanese Maple in your front yard too! They are really pretty trees! :)

You have your garden spruced up nicely Dee. I have the same color hostas. Love the Japanese maple. I hope you chilled out with a cold beer on your front porch after a job well done. 😊 ❤️

Thanks Jo and I wish I had a cold beer..lol! I do have some apple sangria though. ;)
Those are my fave variety of hostas. I think some pesky bugs are attacking them so I'll need to address that asap! Other than that, I'm grounded (get it? grounded?) hee hee 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83