Signs of life in the garden, and first seeds in the ground.

in #gardening6 years ago

20180507_122550.jpg

The long cold, hard winter is over and life is springing back to action all over the place. Pretty soon these lilacs will fill the air with their fragrance.

20180505_093928.jpg

Hopefully my cherry tree will produce something this year. Last year there was nothing and the year before just 2 cherries.

20180505_094447.jpg

These Haskaps seem to do quite well on the prairie.

20180505_094402.jpg

Theres some spinach saying hello!


Now onto the garden prep, start by pulling out any weeds that are trying to get a head start. Look at these weed buggers! You really need to get the whole root out or it will just grow back again-and likely stronger.

20180505_095505.jpg

Then when you know the moon is in the right phase and the soil tempurature is just right you can start planting.

20180507_122420.jpg

This is the earliest I've ever planted anything, so we'll see what happens I guess?

20180506_204840.jpg

Theres 4 rows of Scarlet Nantes and a row of Rainbow mix for the kids to giggle over.

20180507_122348.jpg

Theres more to ol' Ed than just old cars and coins😎

DQmTP74feNKeXVjsCNcyyVFJSXcw5LVEZPacvshqKtbAuAc_1680x8400.png

All photos are taken by me @edthecanadian with my greasy old Samsung Galaxy S6. I don't know what I'm doing in the garden, so that means any old goofball can do it! No get outside and grow something🇨🇦

Sort:  

Oh lilacs! One of my favourites! We rented a house with a lilac tree just off the deck and it smelled delightful and was always buzzing.

I have heard about gardening by the moon phase but I must admit I haven't actually paid attention. What's the benefit? -Aimee

I have no idea! Just me being a goof🤣, I've only just heard of it too.

Ha ha ha! And here I stand with egg on my face because sarcasm is sometimes hard to read. When I first started reading articles on Steemit I had come across one that highlighted an Almanac calendar based on the moon phases and they were serious! the information was interesting but of course I can't remember any of it. -Aimee

Isn’t it so beautiful to see the signs of spring, good luck with your garden

That's a sweet garden spot you have. If you never want to have to weed again I have a trick. Once your plants start popping up cover the whole garden with newspaper (Not the shiny store ads) and cut holes for the plants to poke up thru. Then wet all the paper and cover with straw. You will be able to go all summer without having to do anything but harvest. I'll have some posts coming up about this method I use called "The Lazy Man Garrden".

That sounds like a lot of work for a lazy gardener...

Your soil! Your rows! Sooo straight & well tilled.

It won't be long before there are squash vines and cucumbers racing all over the place to make a jungle. Thanks finny😊

Nice garden!
I can't wait to get growing this year, this will be my first-year garden. :)

Nice, good luck!

I am so jealous about the lilacs! They do so well in Canada and they are by far one of my most favorite flowers. I wish I could smell it all the time. I love all the signs of spring by you already 😀

Yeah Lilacs are fantastic. I have 3 different varieties that bloom about a week apart.

Nothing like Spring. Hope that Cherry tree does good. Thanks @edthecanadian

Looks like you have an awesome space for the garden there! Lol.."more to ol' Ed than just old cars and coins"! Terrific post and photos Ed!! :)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Nice planting Ed!

I invited you for the Minnow Booster White List a little while ago.

Did you take a look and try it out? There's plenty upvotes available for white listers now.

If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask me.

Thanks, I appreciate that. I grabbed a few so far, and voted on a couple of invited people too.
😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29