Who's eating my peas? Gardening with Ed.

in #gardening6 years ago

20180604_225007.jpg

Last year I had a dismal pea crop because most of my plants were partly eaten when they were young. It's happening again! I've never seen any insects on them, let alone any critters. An old friend told me that he watched sparrow's cheweing on his pea leaves, but I dunno about that. Maybe it's the night bunnies?

20180604_224931.jpg

I pulled out some of the most damaged plants and re-seeded.

And then full on defence. A bird net draped over my precious crop. We'll see of that work I guess, next step is a scare crow and a trail cam...

20180604_213941.jpg

Alright, whats going on? I can't upload this pic correctly-you will have to tilt your head a bit.

We'll end this episode with the view that the little devils would have in the land of the living skies, Saskatchewan!

20180604_213923.jpg

DQmTP74feNKeXVjsCNcyyVFJSXcw5LVEZPacvshqKtbAuAc_1680x8400.png

My dirty old Samsung Galaxy S6 took all of these photos.

Sort:  

I'm guessing rabbits. Birds usually would pull the whole little plant out of the ground and fly off with it. Can't wait to see what the trail cam says.

This night rabbit was just spotted in the park 3 hours ago. I may need a snare.
20180605_224640.jpg

If you know anyone with a dog, you can use dog hair around the garden to keep them out. Then you won't accidentally snag a neighborhood dog/cat.

Are you sure you don't have slugs or snails? They like pea shoots. And lettuce and anything else that is nice and green and crunchy...

I've only seen a couple of cutworms so far, and no other foilage is touched. Cheers ceci🤗

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @edthecanadian!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Could it be snails or slugs?

I'd guess a wascally wabbit or two! Gotta nip that in the bud!! Expect to see a rabbit recipe shortly! :o

It will be interesting to find out...📹 !!! 🔦 perhaps ...Night patrol too !!
#edthedetective 🔎 🔎 🔎

I hate it when plants get randomly eaten and it is impossible to figure out from what. I could see this being from a rabbit though. They looked nipped off pretty clean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27