All the hungry mouth - Faucaria TuberculosasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening6 years ago

I call it a Crocodile plant. A pile of hungry little crocodile faces :p
Faucaria Tuberculosa for everyone else.

Faucaria Tuberculosa plant 1.jpg

I got it as a single little plantlet in a supermarket about 2 years ago (that place has some really cool succulents from time to time). It bloomed the same year with a single yellow flower. And since them it is growing and blooming and growing and blooming! No flowers this time. It is not the season yet.

Faucaria Tuberculosa plant 4.jpg

The leaves are so amazing, and even though they look dangerous and sharp, they are not. All the teeth are flexible and there is no way they will scratch.

It doesn't need to much care. Takes quite a bit of hot sun where it stands and it gets watered when I water other plants. Or not :p Cause she doesn't need as much. I didn't try to propagate it yet. I guess I could just split it half... or maybe try to detach one of the shots... but what for? I like it big like this :)

Faucaria Tuberculosa plant 2.jpg

Even though it blooms regularly, I never had a seed pod forming. Not that I would use the seeds (but never know). I am just curious how they grow and look like.

She might need a larger pot soon... again! It seems that the less attention you pay to them, the faster they grow. Then you look and "wow, you are big!" :)

Faucaria Tuberculosa plant 3.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
(ƒ/16, 1/100, ISO100)
Click on the image to view full screen!

»»-------------¤-------------««

Your posts need some push? Join @Qurator for extra exposure.

Qurator 3.0 - UPDATE POST - Guidelines | Registration Details | Tier Changes

To support the project
vote for @qurator as a Steemit witness on
steemit.com, or SteemConnect
Thank you.

Sort:  

Hmmm... put your finger to see if they bite!

Nice find @ewkaw, great picture, Soo interesting and lovely!
That is a very weird plant faucaria. How does it smell? 😉

You go smell it :P and good luck! :D

That looks pretty scary!

Naaaa she is so cute and friendly :))

Ok, I believe you 😉

Love your crock nickname,lol its puurrfect..chew chew, nibble shluuurp😂😜

gain! It seems that the less attention you pay to them, the faster they grow. Then you look and "wow, you are big!" :)

Hmf what are you feeding them???😂😂

Protein shakes and dead rats :D :D :D

😂😂 we now all know how you going to survive a zombieapokalyps..🙄😂🤣😉

hahaha they will protect me! They love me :D

awww of course, who dont love YOU!!!!! 🐲🐉💗:D :D

Oh I dunno... but they better don't admit it!
I have evil plant and I will use it if I have to :D

Would you admit it?😜😉😂 i sure wouldent lol
Best comeback line effer👍🏻😂😂😀😜 and its always ready😉

One of my favourites!

Mine too.. they all are my favourites :)
Poor thing was battling with spider mites and mealybugs.. and still looking good ad growing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87