Peas Sprouting nicely in their pea lineup

in #gardening6 years ago

And the bush beans are all planted


The pea rows are all doing great. The plants are growing quite quickly which is the nice part with peas. Within a couple more days they should be into the net trellis which will give them the support they need to get nice and tall. The 3 varieties I am growing only get a max of 5 feet tall so the trellis should be high enough to last their growth cycle.

IMG_20180514_171851719.jpg

The plants are all in a line along the row and right now is a perfect view of them where you can see the lineup. It looks like the plants have been stood in a line for a perp walk.

IMG_20180514_171919361.jpg

Most of my day was spent planting 7 rows of beans, about 1100 seeds, of two bush beans types all coated heavily in innoculant. The Maxibel is a French fillet and the Jade 2 is a normal green bean that gets big, long, crisp, and juicy beans. The Jade got 4 rows planted and the Maxibel 3 rows which finished out the last of the rows available in the main garden. Today was 6 days after I had planted the first 9 rows of beans and none of those rows are showing any sprouts yet. Very soon though they will all be popping through the soil.

IMG_20180514_200030621.jpg

Now I have to finish the pole bean garden. I still have 7 rows that need the poles back filled and then all 12 rows need the mid post back filled. I have a few days worth of work ahead of me and I need to get it done asap so the beans have a chance to grow and produce something.


Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Hi! What steps do you take to protect your pea plants from ‘predators’? Last year our pea plants shot up so beautifully and then overnight were taken out by insects or caterpillars...we don’t know what! I don’t want to spray them with chemicals and am too scared to plant them again this year and lose them all again! 😬

Ps It’s just our home garden...nothing big...just a row of peas in the front veggie patch :-)

I am fortunate that the only pest I seem to have major problems with is slugs. They take out the bulk of my sprouts. If you don't have large numbers of plants then covering them can help a lot. I have used milk jugs cut to little green houses which gives a lot of protection for the seedlings.

Other things that can work are deterrents like marigolds, neem, or some soaps.

Thankyou so much!! Hmm yes I think I’ll try a bit of shelter for them and look into those plants!! Thankyou again 🙏🍃

Maxibels are one of my favorites!

I really like all the french fillets. The velour that I have planted are an incredible purple fillet bean. All the bush fillet bean plants stay a medium to small size as well so are wonderful for smaller gardening spaces or to pack a bunch in.

I grow pole limas but every time I've tried regular pole string beans they've gotten tough on me. I think I've only tried the Italian Roma beans though so maybe another variety would work better.

You HAVE to try different varieties. Each one has unique growing habits, structure, and beans. Even among 3 rows of the same bean there will be wide variations in the plants. The big part is to pick early for many beans as they will get tough and the beans inside can get big and tough quite quickly. I am growing 5 varieties of bush bean and will have 6 types of poles beans going.

Wow that's a lot of beans! I grow bush romas and yellow wax. I also do fordhook bush limas and a pole variety but that makes for a lot of shelling.
IMG_0766.JPG

I don't grow shelling beans, unless they get away from me... I'm anxious to get my pole bean garden finished so I can get them planted. I want to see the difference between the bush and the pole beans. Height is obvious but the other things like how long the beans last before getting tough, before the beans are to big, how dense the plants produce beans.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-15T04:02:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 37.55/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64203.15
ETH 3065.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93