Fencing the Big Garden

in #gardening6 years ago

Big garden crop May 2018.jpg

When we resurrected the Big garden in 2008, we didn’t have a lot of money so we used 1” chicken wire. As it measures 60’ x 42.5’ for well over 200 linear feet, not an insignificant amount of money.

I had dug out chicken wire fencing several times in the past when we moved gardens or when we dismantled the Big garden in 2005. It’s a daunting task, trying to get those sharp, rusty spikes out of the soil so no one steps on them.

Over the last 9 years the chicken wire had been hit by the weedwacker and the riding mower one time too many and had developed gaping holes. The worst side was the south side and in 2017 the rabbits were running in and out through the holes. It had to be replaced.

Big garden - new fence1 crop June 2017.jpg
Trench dug, fence ready to put up June 2017

Big garden - rabbit proof crop June 2017.jpg
South side fence finished and rabbit proof June 2017

Big garden - fence before1 crop Feb. 2018.jpg
East side fence before, February 2018

Big garden - fence before2 crop Feb. 2018.jpg
North side fence before, February 2018

The East and North sides were obviously not going to make it through another season. The wire had rotted right through and there was no patching the holes. So during an unseasonably warm spell in February 2018, I started the chore of digging out the rotted bits on a 60’ side and a 36’ side.

Big garden - fence down, mulch moved1 crop Feb. 2018.jpg
East side February 2018

The first day I got the fence down and moved the mulch away from where I had to dig.

Big garden - fence down, mulch moved2 crop Feb. 2018.jpg
North side February 2018

Big garden - fence down, mulch moved, digging started crop Feb. 2018.jpg
February 2018

I got 8’ dug. The ground was mostly thawed but it was still really cold! Then I had to wait for the next warm spell.

Fence trench 20 feet crop March 2018.jpg

By the end of March I’d made it 20’ down the East side. The posts are 10’ apart.

Trench - how deep crop April 2018.jpg

The trench was about 1’ wide and 10” – 12” deep. I piled the sifted soil to my left, to leave me a place to sift soil in the trench.

Big garden - fence 1-2 way, rhubarb crop April 2018.jpg

By mid April I’d made it halfway, 30’.

Big garden - trench around corner crop April 2018.jpg

I made it around the corner and 10’ down the side by April 23rd.

Big garden - trench tamped2 crop April 2018.jpg

Once I’d gotten all the wire out, I move the soil back into the trench and tamped it down firmly.

Big garden - trench tamped1 crop April 2018.jpg

Then I made a V trench with my shovel that the wire would slip down into. I’ve always buried the wire 8” down.

Big garden - fence trench2 crop April 2018.jpg

Big garden - fence trench1 crop April 2018.jpg

This was April 30th.

Big garden - fence in ground crop April 2018.jpg
Fence in the trench

Big garden - fencing finished1 crop May 2018.jpg

Big garden - fencing finished2 crop May 2018.jpg

The fence is up and the mulch is back in place by May 3rd. Now I could move onto the next project that must be finished before I could plant this garden: cutting tree limbs down.

The West side is not as bad. But it will have to be done either this fall or next spring. Another 60’ run.

Sort:  

Looks great, that hard work paid off!

Wow that was a big job - looking great now though :)

You did a really good job! What a huge task! It looks great though. No half-assing there.

You did a better job with your garden fence then we did. Do you have problems with deer?

We have a LOT of deer and have only, knock wood, had a problem once about 20 years ago. I think because our pastures are so lush, the piddly gardens hold no attraction. They come into the yard in the fall for the acorns, but we seldom see them in the yard otherwise.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84