Spring is Springing Out....

in #gardening5 years ago

The morning is sunless..... and there is thunder. That is how the whole day is predicted to be. It is Saturday though ... WOOO HOOOOO !! .... and there are many things that need to be done inside, so if I want something to do, all I have to do is stand up and do it ! I don't know how much of that will happen, still...... it could.

My job keeps me inside at a desk 5 days a week. Now that there is some daylight left when I got home. I like to drop my stuff inside and then go out for a walk around the estate.... ok, ok.... the yard. Yesterday it had rained hard before I got home. I took this from my back porch. The lights have hung out all winter. I don't know if they still work. If it wasn't still raining I would check them out today, but I'm not plugging anything in, in the wet. I may not be Einstein's sister, but I am still smarter than that!

side yard from porch.jpg

There are lots of azalea bushes in the yard. They are beginning to bloom. I hope all the rain doesn't beat their happy blooms off.

pink aza bside porch.jpg

They have thousands of buds. A few are open already...... most not yet though.

white buds some open.jpg

It's pretty where the colors overlap.

white and pink.jpg

My tulip spinner resides in the edge of a cluster of white azaleas. You can see the dogwood across the yard. Also beginning to bloom..... but not fully yet. Will the hard rain ruin that too?

tulip spinner.jpg

More funky tree trunk fungi.

more fungi.jpg

Once the tips of the hosta broke through the ground, each day the spikes were longer and longer, till now the leaves are beginning to unfurl.

hosta.jpg

The bush I trimmed last year leaving only one yellow leaved limb sticking up in the middle. It was supposed to be artsy and funny. Someone said it was giving my neighbors the finger. Not how I meant it LOL.... just something for a laugh. Left it like that all winter. Now it looks like this.

finger bush.jpg

Some flower pots waiting.... waiting..... waiting to hold this years flowers, whatever kind they may be.

flower pot with marbles.jpg

This one sat on the porch all winter, right outside my back door. It had a little cover from the back door awning in a place that does not get much sun, so the back side of it grew green. I didn't notice it till a couple of days ago when I put it up on the porch rail. I kind of like it.

flower pot with green side.jpg

ok... I'll end with this bamboo chime cluster. Last yeah I had them spread out across the side of my carport. When I winterized the yard, instead of taking them in, I made a cluster at one end of the carport for a little protection and left them out all winter. I enjoyed hearing their happy clacky sounds when I was coming in or going out.

~Happy~

bamboo cluster.jpg

It is definitely going to be an inside day today...... unless I sit in my rocker on the porch for a while.... well.... that is..... if the lightening stops.

Hope you have a happy day however you decide to spend it.

Love ya !

Jacey

rain, rain go away

Sort:  

What were you thinking when you pruned that bush that way?

The only thing I can think of is maybe developing the stem into some kind of ball-shaped topiary on top. You can also bend it into a curve or at an angle and make a Japanese cloud-pruned tree.

I've got the same yellow shrub in my yard, but we keep it in a simple rounded shape, low enough to be maintained.

I was not thinking anything particular, I was just doing something I found funny. That twig/limb was the only one that was mostly yellow at the time and it was nearly center, so I cut the rest and left it. It was not meant to be anything particular, just humorous. :)

April showers bring May flowers! You have a real fun looking yard. I do love the finger bush! Very artistic!

Lovely spring colors, I to work in an office 5 days a week so I love when the days get longer and I can get a little walk when I get home in the evening on the nicer days

It really makes SO much difference to me.

There is something very unnatural about getting up before daylight, go to work and it be dark before you can get home.

Ohh yes exactly I hate the 4 or 5 months of that it drives me nuts I must admit, I guess that is a form of Cabin Fever

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87