THE NIGHTS ARE GETTING LIGHTER, TIME TO GET IN THE GARDEN AND GET ORGANISED FOR MY 3RD ATTEMPT AT A GARDEN.

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

Storm Eric came with 70 mph winds, heavy rain and bitterly cold today we are having a good day, its dry, bright with no wind. The sky is blue still at 5pm, looks like the nights are starting to get lighter meaning i get to spend time in my garden getting it prepared for Garden 2019. I don't think that's the last of the bad weather, i know there will be more coming so not going to plant anything outside just yet but may start planting a few seeds indoors giving them time to get strong before they are planted out.

BLUE SKY

sunday.jpg

I have a few plants that are from last year, Fruit Tree's, Blackberries, Blueberries & Raspberries. These took very well last year and still look pretty good, I have put some lining over the soil hopefully just to stop them getting to wet with all the rain we have had.

garden.jpg

We have had quite a bit of rain, i don't want the soil to get to wet as it may kill them. I am hoping to taste some homegrown fruit very soon. I am planning on growing Vegetables again this year, i tried last year but failed. This year i start earlier and keep them in doors for a little longer to get stronger.

We have a lovely tree that my daughter bought, she called it Groot after the tree on the movie The Guardians Of The Galaxy. I have wrapped frost protection liner around the trunk and base plus covered the base in liner to stop it getting to wet. Groot survived last Winter, think he is now stronger to definitely get through this Winter.

GROOT

garden 2.jpg

My garden has been cleaned and tidied a number of times to get it ready for the Spring, Everything is in place to get started, all i have to do is rinse out last years pots and decide where i am planting what. I bought a lovely wooden seat last year but now think it could make a great shelf for flowers, i can always buy a deckchair for me. I also have pots that get attached to the fence, i think this year i will get few more to brighten up the boring fence.

garden 3.jpg

I use the white chair to stand a flower pot on to,I am also going to try and use all the empty spaces plus walls and fence to grow plants, My Bee house and Bee watering hole are still attached to the far fence, hopefully my house gets a Bee moving in this year, I love to watch the Bee's doing there work. The White table will be filled with Flowers that attract Bee's & Butterflies.

I have my egg boxes and egg shells ready for planting, I am going to start the plants off in egg shells then when strong enough i will plant the whole thing into a pot, the egg shell will add Calcium to the soil. I have received all the seeds i need to get started. I just have to decided when the best time will be to start sowing the seeds.

All my own photographs.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

Nice when a garden succeeds but still fun when it doesn't :-)

Its good to try :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17