New editions!

in #gardening6 years ago

These are my newest editions! I stumbled across a sale at some local shops and these were just a couple of dollars each.. im always looking for a) more plants and greenery inside and b) I want ALL of the cacti!! =^_^=

I just love how they look, nature plus mathematics plus SPIKES, what more could you want??


FullSizeRender.jpg

Id picked up two cacti recently but after getting the rest of them I wanted to make a sort of clumping cacti display. I thought of making a table centrepiece but most of the containers I came across were too large for a coffee table, instead I went with dual pots either side of the TV.

The pots I picked up from a local Bunnings for $4 each, and they suit the darker colours of the house.

I thought about adding stones to the bottom for drainage, but did some research as I was trying to figure out how many rocks and as these pots have no drainage holes, the water would just fall under the rocks and become stagnant and the roots will not reach it, and it may end up with root rot. So ditched the rocks!

They were surprisingly hard to handle and plant! I mean I KNOW they have spikes but they don’t look so bad, and of course the ones that look the most friendliest hurt the most lol. Even after wearing gloves I still got pricked a few times trying to organise these in the pots.
I used cacti and succulent soil to put them in, and after I had decided what was going where, it only took about ten minutes to put the pots together.

And now they sit next to the TV on either side, something nice to look at =^_^=
IMG_1420.JPG
IMG_1421.JPG

I’m tempted to add more little plants to the pots but don’t want to overcrowd! 😊
Kenj xx

Sort:  

They’re absolutely gorgeous.... Love them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73