The Last Flower Of Summer As Fall Slowly Drifts Into Tennessee

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

I took a walk today and as I stood in my once lush and green yard I realized something...my garden is really boring now. My garden has now died off with the exception of my fall bearing raspberry plants. My beans, corn, flowers, tomatoes, and more have all dried out and died now that they are done for the season. All summer long I've had neat vegetables and fruits to watch grow from seeds to food I could eat. I had beautiful flowers all over but now all but one are gone.

The only sign of color left is one tiny flower...

IMG_8271.JPG

My raised beds along the driveway that held flowers, pumpkin plants, carrots, and radishes are now covered in leaves from the trees above. The temperature is predicted to drop later this week which will be nice. The dying of summer hasn't been pleasant. It's been humid hot and uncomfortable outside this last month. All summer we didn't have many mosquitoes but they arrived in September in full force. I haven't been able to enjoy being outside because they swarm me. Combined with the humidity going outside this last month has left me itchy, sweaty, and with big, puffy frizzed out hair from all the moisture in the air. I will happily welcome autumn.

IMG_8269.JPG

It's sad to see my raised beds covered with a blanket of leaves. "I guess it's time for bed," nature is saying to me. It's a bit sad walking outside in my garden. All summer I have been busy tending to our large garden. Everyday I'd have tasks to complete to make sure everything thrived. I got in really good shape this summer doing heavy lifting and tilling the earth. Pretty soon I'll be stuck in the house as cold weather arrives and there isn't much to do for a while.
IMG_8272.JPG

This summer was the first in two years I really got to enjoy. Being pregnant and then having a baby changed my world. I lost the ability to work outside and enjoy gardening for those two years. From pregnancy and baby carrying I've gotten out of shape and had back problems. Getting out in my garden again and working out really has helped my back and has helped me get in shape. It's sad to see my source of enthusiasm going dormant for a while.

So colorful but such a sad sight!

IMG_8270.JPG

I love winter and I love snow. That being said I look forward to next spring and all the fun I will have again. I'm already planning my garden for next year. I learned so much this spring and summer having the ability to finally have the large garden I wanted for two years. It was so rewarding and filled me with a lot of joy. Now I know every spring I will get to start that same process of growing my own food for happiness and for health.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

That's pretty cool how you wrote your name and the date on your hand so you remember who you are and what day it is. Smart.

If you ever decide to get a tattoo may I recommend this one?

....proof the photos are mine never hurts especially with so many plagiarizers out there.

I like that one. Still better than being a dumbass, they always say, because they're so smart, they can't ever come up with their own one liners...

I have that same tattoo on my hand.

Oh really? I want a proof photo then lol.

Great photo. A kind of "beauty among ordinary things."

Well you might want to look into Ornamental Cabbage aka Winter Cabbage and Flowering Kale. Check them out, they look amazing for later in the year!

Such a wonderful flower from your garden maxrab. It looks very beautiful same as ur hand .thanks for the post @maxrab

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73