Baker Creek Annual Seed Planting Festival, May 2018

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

Just outside of Mansfield, Missouri, is the Baker Creek Seed Company. Baker Creek have become quite famous over the years for their heirloom seeds and their yearly planting festival that has been going on for almost two decades! On Monday, my good friend @adrianecastaneda and I drove to Mansfield to visit on day two of their 18th annual planting festival.

This was my first trip to the festival, however, @jasonrussell and I have been enjoying the products of Baker Creek's vegetable seeds for several years! @adrianecastaneda and her family own our local lawn and garden store, and they have been distributing Baker Creek seeds for years. Addie and a couple of our other friends (including @hethur240), are frequent buyers of the seeds and they are kind enough to pass on the "starts" from their greenhouses so that Jason and I can plant some goodies!

I took way too many photos for one post, so I'd just like to share a bit of our experience from behind my lens from this very neat festival :)

IMG_8163.JPG
One of the owners with her daughter

IMG_8098.JPG
The view from the parking lot (the field) as we walked down to the festival

IMG_8136.JPG

IMG_8103.JPG

IMG_8104.JPG

IMG_8105.JPG

IMG_8124.JPG

IMG_8125.JPG

IMG_8128.JPG

There was so much to see in one day, and just too much to share in one post! I went with only $30 in my pocket and came home with all sorts of goodies for our garden, plus more! I have so many more photos to dig through from this fun day, so stick around to see more from this neat annual gathering!!! :)

IMG_8132.JPG

Thanks for checking it out!

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

I'm so glad you got to go! I bought a handmade broom there two years ago and it is still the best broom I've ever used. Silly to be excited about just a broom. LOL! Looks like you girls had a great time. :)

I saw those brooms and I wanted one! Haha, I wanted to buy everything but it was just neat to go walk around and look at all of it. We really did have a good time. I’d like to take the kiddos next year.

Looks like fun! I would love to go to a garden festival 😊 what kind of seeds did you end up getting?

It really was fun! You should try to find one sometime :) I got some flowers for our butterfly garden, bell peppers, jalapeños, tomatoes, and some marigolds to plant around the veggies. Even better, they gave us all kinds of free seeds! Too many to mention! Haha, thanks for stopping by ! 😊

Cheers for the colorful pics!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Neat! Thanks! :)

This looks like a truly authentic and rather down to earth festival! The ones around here have become too commercialized and aren't worth checking out anymore...haha. Thank you for sharing this little slice of goodness! <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #19

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-19

POSITIVE-PAL-THUMBNAIL

Oh wow, thanks so much for that! ☺️ Yeah, it really was very down to earth. Everyone was so genuine, helpful and informative. I was very impressed, being that it was my first visit. I must have taken over 100 photos that day. It was just so colorful and full of life, I couldn’t resist! Haha, I will be sharing more soon for sure! Thanks again so much for the feature and the curation rewards! It is much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34