My Biggest Homesteading Obstacle, Growing in Tough Conditions.steemCreated with Sketch.

@kiaraantonoviche has put up the latest homesteading challenge and I think this one's a tough one! She's asking what the biggest obstacle to homesteading we've overcome is. I guess I feel it's a tough one, because as homesteaders were face obstacles quite often and overcoming them is part of staying the course, so how do we pick out what the biggest one has been?

Well, after running through some of the obstacles we've overcome, I think I'd have to say my biggest has been learning to grow in an extreme climate which is completely different to the one I spent most of my life in. The jury's still out on whether I've actually fully overcome this obstacle though!

I'm originally from England where it's cold and wet for about 90% of the year! Plant something in the ground there and it pretty much grows. At the time I didn't really know why the soil there was so fertile, because I never had cause to question it.

Then we came to South Australia, the driest state in the driest country and I discovered that plants need more than just dirt and water to grow. At first I tried to solve this problem by looking up what individual plants needed, with the assumption that maybe it was one thing that needed fixing for each individual plant. After all, there were things already growing in the garden that were doing fine, like Aloe Vera and hardy shrubs. Yes, I was really that naïve!

All I ended up doing was chasing my tail! I'd read that I shouldn't over feed some plants or they'll just produce lots of leaves and no fruit, but those plants still weren't thriving, so I thought maybe it's one particular element they're missing. So then I'd be adding potassium, checking the ph levels of the soil or trying to figure out if maybe the soil was too salty. It was probably actually all of the above. Adelaide soil is notoriously alkaline, salty and infertile; then let's just add to that the fact that summers here are akin to living in a blast furnace!

IMG_20171026_112202.jpg
This is the front lawn and it's not even summer yet!

Then I was gifted a book which described how the bacteria in the soil works to convert any nutrients in the soil into a form that plants can actually use. The penny started to drop. I realised two main things; firstly that my soil would never be fertile if I couldn't keep any moisture in it, because the bacteria would just die and wouldn't be able do their work with nutrients. Secondly, when people talk about not over feeding plants, they are talking about if they are being grown in normal conditions with soil that actually already has some sort of fertility.

So now I know that something which grows in any condition might just survive in my soil, but don't expect it to produce much. If I add more compost to the soil and water it well, then it starts to look something like it's thriving a little. If it’s a heavy feeder, then I need to go to town digging all sorts of manure and compost in before even planting the seed, water like crazy all its life, preferably with compost tea every day, and keep putting a mulch of compost around it.

Of course the longer term solution is to keep adding that fertility and each year things have improved. I still have a long way to go though so in a way I'm still overcoming this obstacle, but at least I have a plan!

IMG_20171026_112230.jpg


Go here for the full details to enter the homesteading challenge.

You can also find us on:

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/minismallholding/
Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/minismallholding/
YouTube: https://m.youtube.com/channel/UCBwcsmyIkW_hIEJdLUSd44g

Sort:  

That sounds like a tough job ahead of you...BUT...think of the satisfaction when you've got a beautiful garden of amended soil! I've struggled with fertility issues too, especially because different crops need various amounts.

I couldn't grow radishes at all. I discovered this year it's probably because my soil is too nutrient rich! oops...I went too far on the scale. So next year I'll grow them in a bed without enriching.

Looking forward to see more of your garden evolution.

I read that radishes are a good indication as to whether your soil is fertile enough, so I didn't think it would be problem to over fertilise for them! 😄

was it you who told me that te appropriate people use radishes to test the quality of potting mix?

It's great experience to test homesteading in so different climates. I am from central Russia and have a cottage house where spend family holidays and most of weekends. We manage to grow almost all type of fruits, including grapes and abricots. It requires some work and patience but in harmony with mother nature we are getting there...

You went from one extreme to the other. Too wet, too dry.
I bid you a hearty blessings of good luck with your soil.

And too cold to too hot! Lol!
Thank you. 😊

Well hello there :-) How I sympathise with your story...
From growing up in France, then a long story short, having lived in Queensland for the previous ten years, we are now "learning from scratch" how to be farmers in Tasmania ;-) I never knew how a farmer needs to have so many other skills (chemistry is the one that I had always run away from, but having naturally "green fingers" or a "green thumb"??? helps.
PS: We also started our farming journey with having all the soils (pasture as well as gardens and veggie patches) organically regenerated.

Oh wow! You're really trying a variety of climates! I'm afraid I don't have a green thumb, So no help for me there! Lol!

Wow and I thought our soil was bad! Nice work. I'd love to hear more about how your growing seasons are different and what you do to combat the heat. I imagine your garden plans are a bit different than people in a more temperate climate

I thought I'd go extreme opposite! Lol!
I'm still learning with regards to combating the heat. I'm writing something up on it at the moment, but because I also write for a magazine they get first refusal and I can't post it here as well. I can do something a bit different further down the line though, so I will be writing more on it. That's a great idea on the growing seasons too, I'll made a note of that, thank you.

The funny thing is, South Australia is actually classed as a temperate zone for Australia! 🤣 They also describe it as being similar to the Mediterranean climate, which I suppose it is, just more extreme!

That's insane haha though I guess the desert in the middle contributes to that. Anything is temperate compared to a desert.

Being in the southern part of the U.S. our climate is much different than most. I'm still learning how different and how that changes what I can do.

Haha! Good point! Although sometimes it feels like we're in the desert!

A plan is a much better place to be than without one and you've learned so much already. Good luck on continuing to overcome this challenge.

Thank you. Hopefully the garden will continue to improve

great post... keep sharing :)

great post... keep sharing :)

That sounds like a tough job ahead of you...BUT...think of the satisfaction when you've got a beautiful garden of amended soil! I've struggled with fertility issues too, especially because different crops need various amounts.

I couldn't grow radishes at all. I discovered this year it's probably because my soil is too nutrient rich! oops...I went too far on the scale. So next year I'll grow them in a bed without enriching.

Looking forward to see more of your garden evolution.

great post... keep sharing :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85