New plants from mom: Winter Red Hot Pokers

in #gardening5 years ago

winter red hot poker.jpg

Veltheimia bracteata aka Winter Red Hot Pokers are indigenous to my country and all of the Red Hot Pokers are a big favourite of my mothers. She's always trying to give me some and today I relented, because who could resist these?

Red Hot Pokers belong to the Hyancinth family, on of the many indigenous lilies found here and have a large underground bulb which needs to grow in well-drained soil. They are frost-sensitive and prefer to grow in a shady environment so I will need to keep these under a tree and they will do well with minimal watering. I took these pictures of the ones in her garden.

Veltheimia bracteata.jpg

It gets its name from the fact that it goes dormant in summer and grows during the cooler months, flowering in winter. The flowers are similar to those of aloes and like aloes, it is also pollinated by sunbirds. I have quite a few sunbirds in my garden already so these will be extra food for them in winter

Sort:  

Pffffffr, @ewkaw will say is pink! She sees all pink! :|

A rare occasion that I like pink, too ;)

Isn't it?

Evil Pink flowers for the win!

Such beautiful flowers grow in poor conditions, almost on stones.

That's how they like to grow

What a beauty!!!!
I really liked it!

Yes, they are unusual

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84