GOURD TUNNEL UPDATE

in #gardening6 years ago

This is working out really well so far!


I'll start off with the video tour of it, just to give the video folks a head start. Ultimately, I really like this way of growing gourds so far and plan on building more of these! Check it out!

GOURD TUNNEL UPDATE VLOG

CHECK OUT HOW QUICKLY THEY GREW

After building this trellis AKA "Gourd Tunnel" a bit back, the plants are happy to use as much of it as they can. On the west side I planted Snake Gourds and on the east side is the Bottle "Birdhouse" Gourds. We like the Birdhouse Gourds because they really do make good birdhouses. Natural arts and crafts are a great time anyway, and when the @little-peppers are around and growing, they are all the better!

The Snake Gourds will be used primarily as a food source, but we will also be growing some just for size and also to save seeds. A few, like the one in the photo above, are already forming. At night we can even see the flowers blooming, and they are beautiful, large, and white! I've actually never eaten these before, but I'm looking forward to trying them this year.

As you can see, they are already over the top of my trellis, and still going. They should eventually cover the top of this tunnel and begin to hang down their ripe fruit. It'll be like a drive-thru, only you get to walk through. This part of experimenting and exploring possibilities in our garden and food supply! Nothing like good, old fashioned edible creativity!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-the-gourd-tunnel

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Good work

@papa-pepper

Enjoyed the video!

WOW..realy amazing...gud stuff to pass your quality time

We enjoy it! Thanks.

WOW snake gourds, first time I hear that, your notes when I say that with you I learn many things of nature and that you are my example to follow in this, I have never really heard about it, when I saw the images I thought it was a crop of grapes since they are similar to that crop. By the way, what would be the taste of those snake gourds? as always your Venezuelan friend here present a big hug for you, oh I forgot if you like electronic music I invite you to listen to some good sets that I uploaded to Dlive greetings friend :D

Looking real good there! I love the way that cedar looks. Such a beautiful big garden you have there too! Very nicely done :)

You’re not getting tired at all @papa-pepper! Nevertheless it looks good, one of my favorites.

Wonderful garden. I am also like to gardening. Really miss it.

That is amazing!!............

Good thinking @ papa-pepper.
Snake gourds also grow very fast here, atimes on their own.

But if not for you i never knew they could be used as food.

Wow the things to be known in this world•

I think it will look good if you make a long tunnel with vegetable vines around it like what we can imagine in fairy tales. Who knows it might be a good attraction too for visitors in the house :)

Good idea! I bet visitors would like something like that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80