SIMPLE COLD FRAME BUILD

in #gardening5 years ago

So easy, even @papa-pepper could do it!


To extend our growing season, I built a simple cold frame. Cold frames are basically small structure with a transparent lid. This allows the inside of the frame to be warmer and therefore keep plants growing longer into the cold season, and possibly even all winter!

Mine is simple, made from just six straw bales and some glass from a window (thanks @bluerthangreen). I'm still not sure what all I'll be growing in it, so let me know if you have a suggestion. Thanks!

"DIY COLD FRAME" VIDEO

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


Bitcoin (BTC) - 35jP794XJ1yHUaoxuQUXwGPyCuy6zyiQA5

TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Join The @ghscollective On Discord: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

If you have a second pane of glass the same size and put a thin piece of wood between both sheets, duct tape them and the wood into place, and the cold house will get even warmer, like dual glazing does on a house.

those insulated panels you got the other day could be used for walls as well, replacing the hat bales.

How nifty is that!

incredibly... unless that was a rhetorical question, in which case this space is intentionally left blank.

Cauliflower! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay, that's one suggestion!

I've got some seeds I'll send you if you don't already have some.

I say cauliflower because the glass will block UV, and cauliflower usually needs low UV to get it's white color.

Posted using Partiko Android

What happens if it gets too much UV?

Not sure. I think it turns into broccoli...

When it's growing, you usually wrap the leaves around the heads to block the light. From what I've read. I've not grown it before now, and it's not even sprouted yet lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @papa-pepper! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 26500 replies. Your next target is to reach 27000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

That’s brilliant - grow salad greens; spinach, chard, máche, claytonia, arugula, and a variety of lettuces grow well, also
carrots, and leeks. ❤️🌈🍀🦋🌴

pretty cool tipp! I need to get straw bales - but that is not a hard task :)

Thanks for the idea, I forgot all about these little cold frames. We were just talking about next spring growing season and starting all kinds of seedlings... in New York state without a house to get started in these cold frames may be the answer.

Thanks @papa-pepper

And there is me trying to build a complex one haha. Smart i really like this idea. I need to get myself some hay bales and build one. Great tip thanks 💯🐒

Nice. I haven't seen one exactly like this before. There is something similar that I had considered building for drying herbs though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87