THIS MEANS WAR!!!!

in #gardening5 years ago

The pests are in for it now!


Out in the realm of our garden, a number of pests are still active and attempting to fight our plants. At the moment, I've launched a counter-strike against them, employing all of the savage pepper that I can. Mama-Pepper had recently been reading about using hot peppers for pest control, so I chopped up some Ghost Peppers and boiled them before letting them steep for a day. Then, I added a little soap and some oil, and now it's on! Using the garden produce to fight the garden pests? Sounds like a great idea to me!

PEPPER POWER FOR PEST CONTROL PHOTOS

Until next time…

Make today special!


Want to sell sustainable, handmade products in the Homesteaders Co-op?

Learn more and apply here

Visit the Pepper Family Homestead Store here!

CLICK HERE TO ORDER A STANDARD COPY OF MY FIRST BOOK EVER

CLICK HERE TO ORDER AN AUTOGRAPHED COPY OF MY BOOK

Sort:  

Oh boy! I'm sure that is one spicy defense! I hope it works for you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Looks like a good prep for a meal :-)

But, but, but... won't that make your strawberries and squash hot
To eat? Will it change the taste of your maytters?
I really do like the idea. We used to have
A PBS show on gardening, where the guy would take
Tobacco (chewing, or even crumpled cigarettes)
Soak them in gingerale and spray that on plants for both
Insects and herbicides (maybe I'm misremembering the
Herbicides). I don't think that would qualify as a
"NeoNicotonide" that is so deadly to bees.
But who knows? Post upvoted @papa-pepper

Don't get that in your eyes!!! Ouch!!

Posted using Partiko Android

There will be follow-up with its efficacy, I hope!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello my friend! :D

Good luck, I can't wait to hear if it works for you, might be a great reason to buy some hot peppers for us if it does. :D

God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

I'm sure you know to watch your eyes while boiling.

We use a lot of plants for the bugs here in the Sunshine State. Some of them like the peppermint is a little invasive. The lemon grass and lemon verbena help too. Actually there's several mint plants. Our biggest threat seems to be grasshoppers and treating for funguses. There was a mention of tobacco earlier, we have tried tea made from chewing tobacco....the best way is to just take time to squish them.

Thanks for the pepper tip. I'm looking forward to seeing if that works for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Holy cowboy!!! SPICY! hahahahha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31