Ideas, Gardening People?

in #gardening6 years ago

So, I bunched together all of the still-alive plants on the balcony floor, because we have a freeze warning up for tonight/tomorrow night. Mild chance tonight but a hard freeze possible Monday night.

garden freeze1.jpg
sorry, I was just not getting a good photo despite trying like eight times at different angles

The floor of the balcony is pretty fairly sheltered, with a roof overhead, a solid wall on one side, and a half wall on the other two sides. The tomatoes are tall but don't get higher than the half wall when down on the floor.

garden freeze1-3-2.jpg
I was holding it up high trying to get all of the plants in frame but I am short as hell so I couldn't see what I was doing

In the past I would do the plastic bag thing but I don't have any large size bags and most of these are too big for the ones I do have. I figure it's natural tree cycle to face this kinda weather, so mostly I'm worried about the tomatoes and marigolds, and of course, the tomato plants are yuuuuuge. I have a blossom going on one of them right now.

I have a big giant cardboard box that probably won't cover the tomato plants entirely but could get pretty close. However it's raining out right now so it would get wet and possibly soak and freeze and defeat the purpose; same with if I tried a bed sheet. What do you think? Or should I just get my craft project on and cut up the little plastic bags that I do have?

I wonder if I just bunched them up next to the sliding glass door and tipped the chair over them and stacked a bunch of empty pots and such to make like a plant fort if that would be good enough. LOL

Any ideas would be appreciated! Be good, Steemit. <3

Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Earn rebates from your everyday shopping with ibotta. Join with my referral code: ptonkkp. You’ll get a $10 welcome bonus and I’ll get $5. https://ibotta.com/rebates

photostudio_1518154776752.jpg

Sort:  

Thinking inside eventually, I have used a blanket strung across whatever will hold it up. Even a few degrees difference can make all the difference ;p. Special care to block wind

Yeah, the toms will eventually come in, probably tonight since it looks like tonight and Tuesday night are going to be the worst of it.

I don't know the right name for it (oilcloth?) but what about a tablecloth that is water-resistant? It's like plastic on one side and fabric (felt?) on the other. We have one for a patio table. It wipes clean and water rolls off it.

Oh, that's a good idea, actually. I used to have one but I gave it away, lol.

I have no idea but plant fort sounds like fun. I'm guessing they're too big to bring inside overnight?

Posted using Partiko Android

I will probably do that with the tomatoes eventually, but I usually don't during the early days of on/off close-to-freezing times. But then, I had sufficient plastic bag covers before. It's not a hard freeze warning tonight, so I'll figure it out tomorrow.

Yay for a plant fort!

Since they are close to the wall and warmth of the building, that gives them a better protection, however we always use green garbage bags. With good results. :)))

You could try cuddling them 😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Alllll you need is love... wawawawawa...
I ended up bringing in the tomatoes and marigolds last night. It's possible for snow now!

Ah but you have to keep the Beetles out to you know 😁😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63617.36
ETH 3070.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82