Gardening Inventory: What Survived The Winter

in #gardening6 years ago

Truth be told, I am an avid gardener at heart.

Herbs, flowers, vegetables and the odd mushroom.

I love them all.

I use to keep a large vegetable garden and several large flower and herb gardens but once we took over the restoration of the land around a small house that we purchased 3 years ago, I became a little more selective.

Now, I predominantly only grow perennials and herbs.

Every species that I have planted or grow serves a purpose and in some cases this material offers more than one benefit to myself, my household and my little neighbourhood.

(I’ve really put some thought into this process as @knarly327 and I attempt to live a more sustainable lifestyle.)

Next to being able to produce your own food, growing your own medicine is exceptionally valuable especially when you can preserve these preparations and build up a useful inventory to stock your medicine chest.

Perennials are plants that will come up every year in the Spring.

Providing, of course, that their root systems were able to lay dormant for 6 months and survive the harshness of winter (in Canada) in the process.

Let me show you what I am most excited about:

CBAA3D6E-8BCA-4C43-8C15-68E7B396C32B.jpeg

Rhubarb. Yes. I get excited about rhubarb because it’s an exceptionally old medicinal herb.

Once prized in China and Russia, rhubarb commanded a higher price than saffron and cinnamon did in active trade on the Silk Road.

The stalks have quite a tart flavour and even though it’s considered a herb, you generally treat it like you would a fruit. I like to make a compote with it and it often gets blended with other berries and used in pies and jams.

Rhubarb stalks and roots are powerful laxatives and the leaves are poisonous.

I planted this particular rhubarb late last Spring and I am pleasantly surprised that it has come up because I didn’t think it survived the transplanting or our exceptionally cold Winter this year.

I am also thrilled that my asparagus has come up!

D685C4C4-6D73-45A1-B4CC-DFB79013A4C2.jpeg

This was the third Spring for this particular row of green asparagus which means that it’s now mature enough to harvest and eat. I have tasted some (gently steamed) and it was incredible.

Completely worth the 3 year wait!

I prize asparagus for its high sulfur content. It also has diuretic properties which are wonderful for keeping joint pain at bay, especially in the presence of gout.

Next is my raspberry bush...

B8B85BA6-5852-4491-BDCA-DFF2B62285B2.jpeg

I will use the leaves of this bush to make a herbal tea which is prized for its fragarine content.

Fragarine is known to help tone and tighten all the muscles in the pelvic region which can assist with cramping that is associated with spasms of these muscles. Useful for the cramping that comes with a heavy menstruation and to induce labour when a babe hangs on a little too long after his or her due date.

Beside the tiny clump of green leaves, you’ll notice a decidedly dead stalk. This is or was horseradish.

It is yet to be determined if the horseradish survived. (Stay tuned on the progress of that little project. Lol!)

Here’s a tiny clump of lemon thyme that also survived a late fall transplanting and the wrath of Winter.

0A1E9E03-F2EE-4D7B-A3B1-0E3950F7003A.jpeg

I actually have a few clumps of lemon thyme growing. If I can get enough of it established, I plan to extract some essential oil from its leaves. This oil (like many essential oils) is a fantastic antiseptic and it’s also beneficial for respiratory conditions.

Lastly, here’s what my garlic patch is looking like...

0CE3B9A2-46EB-4B8F-B1FE-A8E11F6E4796.jpeg

I planted two different varieties. It looks like one has come up and the verdict is still out on the other.

I use a lot of garlic in my culinary endeavours so my plan is to keep adding different types of garlic to my patch.

Garlic is indispensable for treating many cardiovascular conditions including both high blood pressure and LDL cholesterol. This also makes it beneficial for treating enlargement of the prostate gland which is influenced by cholesterol.

Thanks for joining me on my early Spring garden tour.

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...let your food be your medicine and then figure out how you can preserve it for future use. ;)

3C8B8E21-B1A3-4217-8865-3841FEF26D2D.jpeg

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

Oh how I absolutely love garlic! I love it so much I have a spare clove with me now as I get ready for my day. I feel like I'm revisiting a @papapepper challenge or something here, ha!
20180509_105750.jpg

Love this! Hahaha! No more crazy food challenges...

Hmmm Rhubarbe...Asparagus...Raspberry...Garlic...Lemon Thyme...wow my friend! I can smell some very nice Michelin star food coming soon! Great products!
Hope all is well on your side my fried!
Btw I got some news for you my friend...I am back in the hotel industry and taken my new role as executive chef of a very famous luxury resort in Mauritius...The Residence Mauritius!

It is such a treat to have a little visit from you @steemit-ironchef!
You know I've hired a chef or two in my day and you Sir, are fully capable of achieving a Michelin star for yourself and your restaurant.
There is no doubt in my mind. The calibre you prefer to work to is world class and The Residence Mauritius is damn lucky to have you.
I hope you negotiated your contract shrewdly especially with your Bistro being so new.
Has @creativewoman taken over the running of the Bistro?
Lots of love to you both. ;)

That is a nice little collection of perennials. The asparagus especially is nice. My wife and I were fortunate enough to have rented a place for a few years that had an established patch. It was great to have some fresh veggies from the garden in early spring.

I am surprised that the horseradish didn't make it. Ours has been growing slowly but seems to come back every year.

Hey @canadianrenegade! It's not officially dead until July...hahaha! It was a good chunk of root that I transplanted in late October 2017. I'm going to cut it back and see if anything materializes...I've never grown it before...so completely a learning opportunity on my end. ;)

It is a wonderful idea to furnish the surrounding space in our house with some green spaces. This green space can be exploited in planting some of the plants that provide us with Vegetables that we need in today's consumption for example, as well as some medicinal herbs . Thank you for sharing . @rebecca .

Thank you @elmarnis. It would be so great if each household could produce some of their own food.

I learned a lot with your post, i like to plant some things in my house specially medicine plants as garlic, aloe and more i want to read more post like this here in steemit because each person have something good to share depending of their country and culture. Regards

Thank you so much for your comment @dim753! I also think that it is fantastic that we can share information on Steemit. I look forward to learning from you as well. ;)

Your kitchen garden is at a height, I'm sure you will grow a decent harvest. You are a professional.

something fun, gardening with beneficial herbs, I also like it and this one of my herbal plants red ginger.
IMG_20180501_134143.jpg

Wow! That looks fantastic! Thanks for including it so that others may see it too!
Does it produce a red flower?

thank you, red ginger is not flowering, this plant produces tubers, which can be mixed with drinks, tea, coffee or brewed with hot water and very good to warm the body.

I know that some types of ginger root can flower. I just wondered if you ever let yours go to flower or produce flowers...

ooh, I never to let it flower, I think it takes a long time, and I've never seen it.

gardening is a hobby base work,,,but when we get benefit from its..then our feeling just unbelievable..that feelings i find out from you...you are a most talented and experienced person..hope for the best

Wow! You sure do have variety!! Oh! I had not idea that they took 3 years! Yikes! LOL

Yes, 3 years until they are mature enough to be able to take a harvest. I have always been reluctant to plant them because of the long wait...however if you never plant them, then you'll be buying from someone else who has bitten the bullet, planted, waited it out and harvested. So, I basically stopped procrastinating and took a chance.

It 's great for wow and my girlfriend to smell his smell
Asparagus and garlic ... berries .. lemon thyme in one ingredient
Greetings to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12