I've Favas On My Mind! 🌱

in #gardening5 years ago

favas3.jpg

The fava beans are coming up strong!!

After I planted out these fava beans we had almost more than a quart left to eat. Idyllwild made a whole bunch of fava miso a few weeks back. I'll have to be patient to try it... maybe a year from now!

I've got favas on my mind because we are in the middle of eating a big pot of chili. I included the rest of the dried fava beans in the chili. I was worried we wouldn't like it as much as the black beans or other beans that we typically put in our chili.

But it is so delicious!! This got me really excited about fava beans because:

1. They are HUGE

2. A small patch can yield a significant amount

3. They grow really fast

4. They are early season (like peas)

5. I like eating the leaves as a bonus

6. They are nitrogen fixing

7. They are a solid cover crop

8. If aphids eat the leaves, I still get beans!


favas1.jpg

This year I am planning on planting a lot more beans than I ever have before. I want to see how many beans we can grow for our diet. We buy bulk beans and eat them in stews, chilis, by themselves, hummus, and soon miso.

I like the idea of growing a significant portion of our beans intake because they are relatively easy to grow, thresh and store. And we do eat a significant amount of beans. Beans have tons of protein and they are tasty!

After planting out our peas late winter this year we ate what was left (almost a quart) in two separate meals: Turkey vegetable soup and turkey curry. We were both surprised how much we liked the dried peas. They had a good flavor and a bit of chewyness to them which was nice.

So I am really excited about these fava beans because I planted about twice as much as I did last year. And I already planted twice as much peas as I did last year. Another month and a half from now, maybe two months from now I will start planting out the other dried beans.

Soon we will be rich beyond our dreams! In beans!


favas2.jpg

Wishing you abundance in your garden this season :)




coopbadgevendor.png

Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community


natural-medicine-banner.jpg

#naturalmedicine | Introducing @naturalmedicine | Discord Community


image.png

#tribesteemup | @tribesteemup | The 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp

Sort:  

Love finding good veggies that are nitrogen fixing. We are looking for more plants to include in a no-till garden we are dreaming up, fava is now on my list of beans I would like to try and grow.

Have y'all ever had luck/tried growing soy beans? I was watching a gardening documentary where some folks were saying they are easy to grow, produce a bunch and taste much better than storebought (to be expected!)

Awesome! I think favas would be a great candidate, it only takes a few seasons to build up your seed stock (if you don't eat too many) and then you'll have so many favas after that.

I am going to be sharing a post in the next few days hopefully, about establishing new garden beds without tillage.

I just pulled out seeds of some beans I want to try this year called Wild Bean, Phaseolus polystachio. It is a perennial climber. The beans are fairly small but given that it is perennial I think it is worth trying. You might be interested in that since you are doing no till. And its hardy to zone 6!

Good to know! I'm starting a little journal with plans and dreamy ideas, those beans are now doodled in next to some nasturtiums :)

I'll keep an eye out for that post on garden beds!

Looking good! I'm thinking about growing them as a cover crop at the end of the summer. Have you ever grown them for that purpose? Where you don't harvest them and just let them die from the frost?

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't personally but I am sure I will in the future when I get my bean stock up. I think its a great idea! They would be good chop and droppers too. I have grown them as chop/drop and they will keep growing in the right conditions.

Nothing more satisfying than BEANS... in the garden & in your belly. Yummo. Also planning bean projects for when the rains come. 🌱💧

Posted using Partiko Android

Good luck with your upcoming bean plantings! What kind of beans will you be growing?

Have you grown broad beans before? They produce so much beans!

Posted using Partiko Android

Are broad beans different than fava beans? I thought they were the same but I could be wrong!

Fava bean miso! Omg.

Keep us posted about that!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow so many fava bean plants! I only have planted four in my garden but look forward to harvest beans :) It's my favorite beans but not much easily available in the area I live in. I also start some soy bean sorts.

Good luck for your miso project. Mine is now sleeping in the basement.

Good luck with your four plants :) If you can resist eating them and save the seeds next year you will be able to plant many more! What kind of beans did you make your miso with? So far we have garbanzo and fava miso brewing.

I used soy beans this year. I tried garbanzo, azuki, pand beans etc few years ago. Somehow I come back to classic :) I've never tried with fava beans. I must try it with the harvest.

In case mine don't work, I'll buy seeds for next year on Homesteaders Coop :)
https://homesteaderscoop.com/product/fave-beans-broad-beans-seeds/

G6PD

Posted using Partiko Android

That's a lot of beans all the best with those 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25