[Gardening] Planting And Growing Pumpkins Days 13-35

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

gardening pumpkin planting and growing days 13-35 thumbnail.jpg

This will be the third article of my pumpkin blog. I will document my gardening endeavors with progress, obstacles, tips, recipes, stories, ups and downs or just pretty pictures :-)
Most of the pumpkins I grow are of the Hokkaido variety.

Just in case you missed it and are interested - check out the first two articles of the series here:

thumbnail small.jpgPlanting And Growing Pumpkins Day 1
days 7-12 thumb.pngPlanting And Growing Pumpkins Days 7-12

Pot Outdoors 🌱

14 days after I planted the seeds in the big plant pot outdoors on April 9th, I saw the first successfully prospering outdoor seedling.

20180423_165546.jpg
Day 14

Day 15
Day 18

20180503_095746.jpg
Day 24 - The pumpkins outdoors grow a little slower than indoors due to the lower temperatures, but they look much more robust.

Day 24
Day 29

CIMG3646.JPG
Day 24

Day 29
Day 31:

Glass Annex Indoors

It is exciting to watch the pumpkin seedlings grow bigger every day. Interesting, how they turn and grow towards the sunny side.

Day 15
Day 24

CIMG3657.JPG
Day 27

Day 29 - Another repotting into bigger bins was necessary
Day 35

Watermelon

Compared to the pumpkins, the watermelons are growing way slower...


Day 16

Day 18
Day 24 - repotted


Day 27

Day 29
Day 35

The Big Repotting, Day 35

I repotted some of the smaller pumpkin seedlings from the egg carton into a big clay pot.

On the compost pile, only one of the dozens of seeds sprouted. So I replanted the bigger pumpkin plantlets from the indoors pots there. They have a lot of space there but are more vulnerable to snails and other environmental dangers than my potted plants around the house.
CIMG3885.JPG


New Plants

I got some new plants from my neighbor and some from my grandpa.

CIMG3791.JPG

Peppers and jalapeños
Zucchini

CIMG3945.JPG
Fly on zucchini


I am worried about my babies and hope they are able to resist wind, weather, snails 🐌 and all other dangers they will face.

...to be continued...

Stay tuned for updates in the upcoming days and weeks :-)


Help me out using these referral links

  • busy.org - the largest and most feature-rich alternative to Steemit
  • Get more followers with SteemEngine

My videos and live streams

dlive.io/@spreadfire1 | twitch.tv/spreadfire1 | youtube.com/spreadfire


My latest top articles:

28.04.2018Tutorial
thumb restream flowchart.pngHow To: Live-Stream To Multiple Platforms Simultaneously. OBS to nginx to DLive, Restream, Twitch, YouTube
04.05.2018Philosophy / Overview
thumbnail small.pngFor Content Lovers: Quote Collection & Overview of my best articles
09.05.2018Gardening / Nature Photography
cows thumbnail small.pngSize is no Qualifier of Beauty
10.05.2018Heroes of the Storm DLive Video
fenix penta kill thumb.pngHighlight Clip: Epic Fenix Penta Kill! Fenix Level 5 Plays
Sort:  

wheres the weed at?:D btw today at 8 im gonna teach our silver/gold lvl friend again:)

There are all kinds of weeds, but not the kind you're talking about I guess 😜
Have fun playing Heroes , I'm not at home today

Nice pictures of your plants. Melons pumpkins and corn are the few things I don't grow in my raised bed garden. I think they do better in a field. Is that where your stuff will end up?

Thanks. They will end up wherever I have space and where they survive wind, weather, snails and so on :-)

This is really cool and i also love plantation and we also have small garden and we also planted few stuff and it always give so wonderful natural essence. For now, the main highlighted stuff is raw mangoes. Please find below raw mangoes from my garden. 🙂

U5dsEmA6YreZ83SJpKYXx2iLHfEMUNJ_1680x8400.jpeg

Thanks for sharing this post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

Thanks! I like mangos ;-)

Welcome and great to hear that. And in my opinion mango is king of all fruits. 🙂

Great post! The pictures are fantastic and you have done a great job of detailing the process you are following. I usually just buy started plants from the store. I don't have the patience to grow from seeds. Looks like you are doing a great job though! I look forward to seeing how things progress!

Thank you very much!
It is a time-intensive hobby, but very rewarding :-)
I'll keep you up to date.

Great progression photos. I love pumpkins, a very giving plant - seeds, pie, and can use as a vegetable by steeming or otherwise cooking. Not to mention Hollow'een!

Congratulation spreadfire1! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 38min with 46 votes.

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

smartsteem upvote in the amount of $30.10 STU, $52.89 USD.
appreciator upvote in the amount of $27.65 STU, $48.58 USD.
upme upvote in the amount of $20.92 STU, $36.75 USD.
rocky1 upvote in the amount of $5.90 STU, $10.37 USD.
estabond upvote in the amount of $1.93 STU, $3.39 USD.
jerrybanfield upvote in the amount of $1.76 STU, $3.09 USD.
pushup upvote in the amount of $1.35 STU, $2.38 USD.

For a total calculated value of $90 STU, $157 USD before curation, with approx. $22 USD curation being earned by the paid voters.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

I respect this work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88