The Great Johnson Grass Drama


Actually, it might not be great as far as world events are concerned. But it is rocking my world.

Or should I say breaking my back. That is where the drama comes in. Will I survive? 😱

See, being dramatic lol

Back to the Johnson Grass. Once upon time, Some happy newcomers to this country brought seeds to grow a wonderful fodder Grass from the old country.

They sowed and the grass grew! Fantastic. Only, conditions - weather and soil- were much different and suddenly, cows and other livestock suddenly died.

Why??? Turns out that the beautiful, self-spreading grass turns into a killer if it experiences a little stress. Drought, frost and other stressors cause cyanide to develop in the innocent looking grass.

Did I mention that it spreads? And gets huge choking everything else that is trying to grow?

After neglecting the garden for a long time and a beautiful rainy season, the grass is huge!! But I am going to win.

Strategy: Take pictures of flowers after each successful removal of a clump.

If you never hear from me again you know that the grass won 🤪

#gardening #homesteading #steemblopomo #share2steem #permaculture



sustainablelivingpodcast

Find us here:

Website: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Join me and post from image.png to earn Steem. My referral link to join.

Sort:  

I had no idea that Johnson grass could produce cyanide! I'll have to keep that in mind. Thanks for the heads up!

You are welcome. I am pretty sure that I killed a chicken with it before I found out about that particular trait.

Btw. I am doing a Garden Corner Gathering/contest every Friday. Hope you will participate. Just show off something from your garden. :)

That sounds awesome! It will give me a good excuse to get my camera back out.

I too am fighting a battle against weeds. Mine are the bushes that hold thousands of little velcro like seedpods that grab you whenever you come near. For me with my long thick hair this is particularly a problem. I am making a commitment this moment that tomorrow morning i will put on my weeding clothes and do some more weeding.

Posted using Partiko Android

Does it look like clover? Or do you have Burdock? That is some of the ones we have here. I try to pull those when they are young.
Good luck on your weeding adventure :)

My task for the morning is to make the rabbit hutch, the black spot, usable again without taking a bath in the pricklies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, And take some pictures. I am hosting a Garden Corner every Friday and you can show us the pics of your weeds :)

Congratulations @sustainablelivin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79