Who Loves Potatoes?








Raise your hand if you love potatoes!

Me! Me! Me!

Of course I do. I grew up in Germany where we eat potatoes in all forms and ways. As a matter in fact, I did an apprenticeship in Hotel Management and for one of the exams, we needed to know how to fix potatoes 260 ways.

That is a lot of ways.

Oddly enough, baked potato was not among the 260 ways. I learned that after coming to the US.

Eating potatoes is great. But growing them is even better!! It is one of those veggies that can be grown from small leftover pieces. Talk about turning trash into money.

In this case, turning compost into food.

I was adding to the compost part in my grow tower and noticed something green making its way to the top. Of course, I had to investigate and found that potato peels had sprouted some good sized plants.

I added a new row to my potato in a bucket growing experiment. We shall see if they survive the not so gentle transplant.

The plan is to add some irrigation to the buckets so we don’t forget to water. The artichokes and sunflowers growing around the buckets should give them some protection from the sun - especially the evening sun coming from the west which can be quite gnarly.

I might have to cover the black buckets to keep them from getting too hot. We shall see. I am hoping to start harvesting new potatoes in a few months.

Looking forward to it!

#gardening #permaculture #share2steem #steemblopomo #homesteading



sustainablelivingpodcast

Find us here:

Website: http://www.sustainablelivingpodcast.com/
Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/user?u=2723500

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sustainablelivingpodcast/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MarianneEWest

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCA73SuaMBnBIaB5OdiL_y6Q

Posted from Instagram via Share2Steem

Join me and post from image.png to earn Steem. My referral link to join.

Sort:  

Nice! Yeah, I love potatoes. I grew up (early years) in Germany too! Love the dirty earth apples

😄 They are so good!! Are you into gardening? Maybe you can show off your garden at the Garden Corner post :)

I could be into gardening... But I need a house first! I do like growing chillies every year though and making sauces and purees.

Posted using Partiko Android

A weekly chile picture, why not LOL

I love potatoes and fortunately for us we get all sorts here. Sweat potatoes, Irish, white potatoes and others. They're all great.

They all are so good!! Do you also have real yams in your country? Here, sweet potatoes are sold as yams...

Ahhh! Yes of course. We are a nation of yam producers and eaters. We have a lot of tubers in my country. Yams, Cocoa yam, Potatoes, Cassava, 3 leaves Yam tuber (very different from yam) and many more and they all have variants depending on the region of my country you find it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, I hope you take many pictures of those. And teach us how to propagate them...

Lol. Not enough space in my compound for it. I usually plant thing that don't take too much space and are very expressive in the market or things we use regularly and it doesn't finish because it regrows very fast like the vegetables.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, and here is the garden corner post. You can drop your garden related (rabbits count) posts here :)

https://steemit.com/gardencorner/@sustainablelivin/sustainablelivin-1555187880175-garden-corner-3--4132019

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85