As Cold as It Gets - Winter Balcony Garden Update

in #gardening5 years ago

Middle of January is about as cold as it gets here in central Israel. With temperatures circa 10c, only Europeans and crazy people even consider leaving shelter on an electric scooter (yet, @elear, I am looking at you). 

Braving the weather on my balcony (there's a roof so the rain stays out, for the most part), I took advantage of a few rays of sun to snap a few photos of my balcony garden (and take my poor tomato plant indoors before it catches a cold).

Panoramic view of my porch

It's only been a week since Kosh died, but the porch already feels different and quiet in a weird way. The cold isn't helping, so it's gotten hard to stay out and marvel at my greenery. Hence the small number of photos.

No longer being chewed in by late Kosh, the herbs in the pink planter are spreading to meet the sun

Lemon Verbena growing some new branches even in the cold!


Broccoli and spring onions don't mind the cold, but they are not fans of the wind


Broccoli! Would you believe these were seeds when I got them?!


Also growing more leaves and branches at the root is my delicious Salvia Elegans .


Remember my "will be dill" and "will be coriander"? Here they are!


My balcony herb garden, surviving the "harsh" Israeli winter.


In my next post, I hope to tell you my story of what to do when life gives your neighbors too many lemons.

-=-=-

Sort:  

Didn’t know your cat was named Kosh from B5. Now I understand all the lightning storms. It was from his passing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey your plants are looking nice and green during the "harsh" winter time ^^ ! 🌱🌱It looks like ill have to come to you for gardening tips

I KNOW! I lived my whole life believing all I could do is kill plants. Now I breed them from cuttings and stuff!!! So proud of self!!!

So proud of you as well :)

Stopping global warming one plant at a time 😎

Nice garden you have here @techslut, and I really can't wait to read your story on what to do when life gives your neighbors too many lemons.

Shalom!

Hi, @techslut!

You just got a 0.08% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @techslut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.170 which ranks you at #252 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 251).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 248 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Upvoted and ReSteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22