Crabapple BlossomssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago
I love all the myriad flowers that bloom in springtime, making the world a pretty place. Among those lovely flowers, the little crabapple blossoms are among my favorites! I find their color to be delightful!

CrabappleB.png

We have an ornamental crabapple tree — "ornamental" because it does not bear fruit, at least not of an appreciable size. Although the blossoms of this tree are red, other crabapple species can bear flowers that are pink or white.

CrabappleA.png

Crabapples comprise several species and cultivars of Malus, a genus which also includes the common orchard apple (M. pumila syn. M. domestica ). In fact, the term "crabapple" merely refers to any of the wild, non-domesticated species of the apple family. Crabapple species which are not cross-bred to be ornamental produce fruit that are edible, although they are not as large or sweet as the domesticated apple species.

Crabapple2.png

Many years have passed since I had Crabapple Jelly, but it is really tasty! I've only had it homemade in the past, but I might look in the shops sometime soon and see if I can find some. 😋

Crabapple15color.png

ThanksForReading--Pink.png 😊

SOURCES
   1 EpicGardening.com: Crabapples
   2 Wikipedia: Malus

curlydivider.png

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

PowerHouseCreativesbanner.jpg

__pearls.png
07-Apr-2019

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Those are so pretty! love that soft pink.

I like these blossoms, seems so soft

Posted using Partiko Android

Why does this look like a sakura only a bit darker? It's definitely gorgeous. 😍

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake-dulce_napoleon_cake.png

Manually curated by @niallon11.

Spring flowering trees, ahhh there is nothing like it @thekittygirl! Did you actually make the jelly yourself? I would love to hear about it. My grandparents had a crab apple tree when I was growing up, I remember the little apples, but only that my brothers and cousins used to throw them at one another, lol Beautiful shots this morning!

It attracted human attention, how it won't insects. Love the photos

I like the soft pink of this flowers, I don't think I have seen these type of flowers here yet...

Beautiful flowers. I've never tried crabapple jelly. We are stuck on ligonberries jelly right now!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10