Double DayliliessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gardening5 years ago
Last year, I posted about some lilies in the genus Hemerocallis that bloom in my yard. But, there are other lilies which I have not mentioned, among them the common daylily. In the southeastern US, the common daylily can often be seen blooming along roadsides and in fields. Some are yellow, but orange is the most common color. These flowers usually have three petals and three sepals, but the sepals are almost identical to the petals in size, shape, and color, so the appearance is like six petals to the untrained eye.

The daylilies that I have are a bit more spectacular than the common variety as they have twice the number of petals! These came from plants that my grandmother (father's mother) had on her property and were shared with my parents long ago. As can be seen in the photo, the petals are paired all around the flower, with one on top of another! Nature is amazing, and these double-daylilies are stunning! I am grateful to "Mama" for sharing these with my parents all those years ago!

My artistic processing of a photo I took of once such lily:

DoubleDaylily.png

 😊

SOURCES
   1 Wikipedia: Daylily


07-Aug-2019

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

These are beautiful! I don't think I've spotted these in any local gardens but I will be watching for them now.

I agree. It is beautiful

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!

You have been curated by @mosunomotunde on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Awesome picture! I too have the same lilies and they are lovely to have.

Posted using Partiko Android

hmm... I think I'd actually prefer the unedited version you showed on #pypt

that's just me though, and the filter here does make it look kinda artsy...

I enjoy the exxects because it makes the image pop AND I like the fact you are editing and adding another layer of creation on top of just the photography.

IMG_6966.jpg

Heres one growing in my yard about 10 meters away from where I sit. Same thing?

Great hanging with you on #pypt once again!

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74