A Tool of Importance in My Food Forest OrchardA Tool of Importance in My Food Forest Orchard

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

saw5.jpg

I have really enjoyed the questions/contests from @offgrid-online. Looking through the entries each week always gives me new inspirations. New things are learned from one or more fellow Steemian's entries each week. And being addicted to learning new and creative techniques or ideas, I often find myself coming back to check if a new entry has been submitted.

This week, @offgrid-online would like to see a post about your favorite tried and true hand tool or set of tools - and how the tool or combination is used.

white_space.jpg
The contest caught my eye. It wasn't because I knew the answer right away. It was the opposite. I don't think I have ever analyzed the uses or need for hand tools. Just like forks and knives, they are just there. You ever heard anybody pose the question "what is your favorite eating utensil"? I'm sure with debate and observation, one could come up with a valid and logical reason as to which utensil makes eating better. But really, we all just take for granted what we use to eat our meals with. They are just part of what our society is. And hand tools in the garden had been treated with the same amount of thought. Plus, I have a no dig food forest and use my God given hands as tools more than any other man made one.

saw4.jpg
I have a no dig food forest and use my God given hands as tools more than any other man made one

However, soon after thinking about the hand tools I use, I understood how important they are and what they have done for me. I also came to the conclusion that many of the common types of tools (hand trowel, shovel, rake, hoe, etc) seem to be interchangeable, or at least be able to do similar work compared with many other garden tools. Maybe not as easily, but still gets the task done. You know, like using a hand trowel to dig a hole, rather than going to the shed and getting the shovel. Or raking up some leaves with a hoe.

The tool I found myself leaning towards after visualizing what each and everyone in my garden does, was one that only has one true purpose. It can't be used to dig or pull. It's not common and it has always done what it claims to do. And that is with very little effort and minimal practice.

white_space.jpg
In this post, I will show you that one single tool. It quite possibly will be the first time a few of you have ever seen such a fancy tool that is commonly used.

saw3.jpg
Samurai Ichiban 330Mm Pruning Saw

My favorite (and most dangerous) hand tool is the Samurai Ichiban 330Mm Pruning Saw. The saw is an incredibly well constructed tool that is made in Japan. It has extremely sharp teeth and the curved shape design is easy on the hands. It cuts through branches like a warm knife through organic butter. It's design allows it to reach into narrow crotches and make clean, quick cuts. This is one reason it makes the perfect tool for fine pruning fruit trees. When used properly, it's cuts leave the wood smooth, with no excess wood dangling off of the remaining branches. The area also heals over consistently every time. It is not one of my most used hand tools, but when it is needed, there is nothing like it. My experience is limited, as I have only been using it on less than fifteen trees over the past several years. But in that time, it has been priceless, and did I mention sharp?

In my opinion, a must have if you are growing fruit trees.

white_space.jpg
saw2.jpg
The design of this saw allows it to get into narrow crotches so it is the perfect tool for fine pruning on fruit trees. It cuts smoothly and the wound it leaves behind heals over nicely every time.

Be sure to clean and return the saw to it's protective cover when not in use because, once again, it is super sharp. When you see and feel how it slides through living wood, the sharpness will be understood. Just a minor nic or brush against the skin can easily draw blood. (This is from personally experience, owwww!!!!!)

saw.jpg
The design on the handle makes it easier and quicker to do the cuts.

This is the best handsaw I have ever owned or used, but that's not saying much since I have only owned a few hand saws. Those saws however, were not designed for garden use and were never used to trim branches or limbs on fruit trees. This is the only hand saw I have ever used on fruit or nut trees. If you know of, or have experienced a similar type of hand saw please share your thoughts on them.

Below is a great video comparing different hand saws and why Samurai Ichiban is the best saw ever :

white_space.jpg
Video source


white_space.jpg

Do you have a favorite hand tool or a set of hand tools? Please share your thoughts and join the contest. You can find more info on the contest here.

If you are not following @offgrid-online, you are missing out on some great content. Don't believe me, see it for yourself.

Sort:  

I have a similar saw but its mounted on a extendable fiberglass hand so i can get high up branches with it aswell.

That's a good idea for taller trees. I keep my fruit tree small, so I can do most of my pruning standing on the ground.

fruit trees i let get as big as they want lol the bigger they get the more fruit they bring :)

I have a similar one! We call it the Silky Saw. It's a Japanese saw as well, curved and reaaaally sharp.

Mine's got a longer handle so I can reach higher limbs since I'm short lol

Sounds like the Japanese make the best tools!

This post has won a 1 SBD Prize in the @offgrid-online Your Favorite Tool Contest. Thank you for sharing your favorite pruning and safety tools how they make tasks easier :)

I love these saws! I once took down a 30' tall hackberry tree growing up between two garages with one of these. It's amazing how large of branches (or trunks!) you can cut with that thing...

Ha, I am glad you have experienced one of these saws. I love it, but have never taken down a 30' tree with this thing. Might have to find one that needs to come down just to try it... I will leave this job to my husband, lol.

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

gonna scoop me.....a SAMURAI!

haha, it is really useful, but you are already doing a great job with your fruit trees without it, so maybe it won't be as useful to you :)

cutting tools....are my favorite! so grateful to find this one! i watched the video...and then many others on it!!! just ordered one! thank you!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61875.79
ETH 3013.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69