Abundant Peach Harvest - Four Year Old Trees

in #gardening6 years ago

June_12_1.jpg
white_space.jpg

Peaches are the most delicious fruit I grow in my food forest. The amazing flavor of sun ripened peaches is so delectable and juicy. Once you start to devour them, their sweet juice will drip from your chin and there is nothing you can do to stop it. This is how my husband and I celebrate the arrival of Summer. Peaches purchased in stores are picked too early. Of course this has to be the case as they are shipped from distant places and need time for their customers to show up. However, harvesting early means the fruit is extra firm and on the sour side. So basically, the majority of store bought peaces are not as flavorful as they could be. This means they will never have the flavor of a fully mature, tree ripened peach. The only way to experience this is to grow your own peach trees, or know someone that does.

Tips for Growing Peach Trees at Home

Peaches get a bad reputation for being difficult to grow, but with a few tips, you can grow wonderful peaches at home as well. Out of all the fruit trees in my home orchard, peach trees are perhaps the most demanding in their pruning needs. They are also more susceptible to pests and diseases, so don't plant more trees than what you can care for or your harvest can be disappointing. Take it slow. Grow two at first, then add another the following year. Get familiar with a tree or two before even thinking about an orchard. And don't worry, a few years goes by rapidly when you are building and filling in your food forest. Nothing worse than turning something fun and beneficial into a disappointing and overwhelming chore. Keep in mind peach trees are not as long lived as say apple trees. They typically only live 10 to 20 years. But (in my opinion) the tree ripened peaches are so amazingly incredible that it is absolutely worth the trouble and risk to grow your own.

  • There are many varieties of peaches with all sorts of varying tastes and textures. The most important part of growing peach trees successfully is to pick the right cultivar for your geographic region. Most peach cultivars are self fertile and suited for zone 5 to 8. However, they will grow better in the warmer zones (7-8). Peach trees' flower buds and blooms are very susceptible to late frost. If late frost damages the blossoms, you run the risk of not having peaches that year.
  • Peaches require early Summer heat to fully ripen. Select a low-chill variety the further South you are.
  • Peach trees are fussy about the soil they eat from. They should be planted in well drained soil. They will not tolerate cold or heavy/clay soil. So, don't plant peach trees in low areas that hold water or might be more prone to a late Spring freeze .
  • Peach trees require more nitrogen than most other fruit trees to produce well. Don't go overboard though, or you will be growing peach tree leaves and not peaches. Peach trees are naturally very vigorous and grow faster than you can keep up with, at least until you become familiar with their needs. I don't use any store bought fertilizer on my peach trees. I only give them my own comfrey fertilizer in early Spring and a layer of worm casting in the Fall. I also chop and drop comfrey leaves to use as mulch. Don't fertilize a peach tree too often or you will get a weak tree that grows too fast. The limbs will break easily with the weight of the maturing fruit and will be more susceptible to insect damages.
  • Prune heavily once peach trees start to bear fruit. It's best to prune them to have an open center. This allows the fruit to get a more equal dose of sunlight and airflow.
  • Peach trees will set excessive fruit. It is the responsibility of the growers to thin fruit about 6 weeks after bloom.
  • Check peach trees for pests and diseases throughout the entire growing season.

white_space.jpg

June_12_2.jpg

My Story

I am going to tell you what I have observed with my own peach trees. This post is also for my own record, so it includes dates that are only relevant to my food forest.

Abundant Peach Harvest

This is the second year that my two, four-year old peach trees have produce abundant fruit for me. The two producing varieties in my food forest are Redhaven & Early Elberta. Knowing peach trees are not long lived (10 - 20 years), my strategy is to plant a new peach tree every few years. I planted the "Loring " variety this year, but this tree is still too young to produce. With more varieties of peach trees planted, hopefully I can extend the peach harvest time since each variety matures at different times.
white_space.jpg
June_14.jpg
white_space.jpg

Delayed Harvest

Last year, we harvested the majority of our peaches on June 2nd and most of them were fully ripened. This year the story is very different. By the first week of June, both trees started to put off that wonderful peach smell. Every time when I walked under them, I just wanted to take a big bite out of the peaches ripe or not. We started a small first harvest on June 12th. We just couldn't wait any longer, lol, and it was still too early. So we put them inside a paper bag to ripen some more.

white_space.jpg
peaches2018_2.jpgwhite_space.jpg

Birds and other insects discovered the peaches in early June when the aroma of peaches started to blow in the wind. We found the first, bird pecked peach, on June 6th. At that point we decided to put up some scare tape as shown in pictures below. The tape has been very effective against birds. Sunlight is sharply reflected from the tape. As the tape spins in the wind, it creates dancing points of bright and distracting light that disco ball your entire growing area. The constant reflection on a bright, sunny day has definitely kept the birds away. the tape will be removed and used only as trees or plants become affected by birds. I am thinking the birds will get accustomed to the tape and simply ignore it. That's why it will only be used as needed. We continue to harvest every couple of days as more peaches ripen by the Summer heat.

As of June 22nd, most of the Redhaven peaches are ripe and have been harvested. More than half of the Early Elberta peaches are still on the tree. They are gaining size and getting softer. We harvested the rest of the peaches on June 25th. Don't go on a vacation during peach harvest time. If you blink, you might miss the peak harvest time. This year, I am harvesting peaches two, to almost four weeks later than last year. A note to self, clear my schedule for the entire month of June. Apparently, peach harvest time in my food forest is anytime between early June to late June.

white_space.jpg
peaches2018_1.jpg
white_space.jpg

Notes

Here are some observations of mine this year:

  • Leave the insect or bird damaged peaches where they are. Insects seem to continue to eat the damaged fruit until they are all gone. Insects damage more fruit when I remove the damaged fruit from the tree or on the ground.
  • We had a severe drought this Spring. I think I made the mistake of not watering the fruit trees at all until three weeks ago. I don't like to water my established fruit trees, but this year, the drought has been quite bad. I think if I would have given them a good watering a couple of times, the peaches would have been larger, even though I am not complaining about the harvest.
  • Need to thin A LOT MORE fruit next year. Thin more fruit. Thin more fruit. I am hoping to drive that point in my head. I can really see why thinning peaches is so important. These trees can literally crack the whole limb under the weight of all the fruit. Peaches gain a lot of size at the end just prior to harvest. Even though I already witnessed this fact last year, I clearly still did not thin enough. I have limbs touching the ground from the weight of maturing peaches this year as well. Properly thinned tree will also produce larger fruit.

white_space.jpg
June_20_5_s.jpg
white_space.jpg

Solstice Prune Fruit Trees

Regular pruning is the best way to control the size of fruit trees. Now that most of my peaches are harvested from the trees. I will be doing a Summer pruning to keep the size of my peach trees small. This will hopefully put all peaches within my reach as I am standing on the ground. I practice the same pruning technique for all my fruit trees to keep the size of my trees manageable. Last year I did this on June 21st. This year I will be doing the pruning on June 30th.

white_space.jpg
June_20_10_s.jpg

white_space.jpg
white_space.jpg

All photos come from my food forest

Photo copyright: @thelaundrylady

If you find my post helpful, please upvote, resteem and comment.

white_space.jpg

Sort:  

Such beautiful peaches! Mine are still small and green. Perhaps mine needed more water too. I have hundreds of grasshoppers on my peach trees all of a sudden and I don't want to use any poison on them. Might you have any ideas for me?

Personally, I don't spray my trees even if they are being attacked by pests. It is a great time to observe and learn. From my own observation in my food forest, if pests come and I don't spray, I usually notice something else coming along to take care of the pests a few weeks later. That's the amazing thing about Mother Nature. This is why it is so important to have diversity and to attract beneficial insects.

If you prefer to spray, you can always use neem oil. Garlic & pepper spray also will deter grasshoppers.

Holy cow....talk about a producing tree!! I'm that bad too. I always mean to thin things out and just don't end up doing it.

It's just so hard to thin those fruit when you have been waiting for years for them to start producing, but I have learned by lessons....I think :)

I don't blame you a bit. I HAVE FRUIT !!! give me more! Then the mood changes I want BIG JUICY FRUIT, time to thin the crop. Decisions, decisions.

lol, you totally understand!

I had a lucid moment J/K

beautiful harvest!!!!!! mineral rich peaches!!!!!! i hear ya on the thinning lol!!!! we can always do more around here too! after our harvest...we will be summer pruning also. i love this post! you inspire!!!! re steemed!

Thank you @rawutah! I am on Steemit showing my food forest because I hope to inspire others to start growing food themselves and take that power away from the corporations and the powers that be. Your established urban food forest is not only inspiring, it is also very encouraging. You also show that you can grow food even if you don't have a lot of land. Just a small city backyard is enough land to produce abundantly. I am glad I am doing the same thing already as your recommendation. Hopefully my food forest can turn into something similar to yours in a few more years. Thank you for stopping by. You are truly inspirational!

wow...heart = blown!!!!! thank you so much!!!! so grateful to connect with people with you here on steemit!!!! i treasure it!!!! cheers....to our.....FREEDOM!!!!!!!!!!!! you ...inspire the crap...outta us here in utah!!!!! please keep the posts coming!!!!! i'm a huge huge fan!!!!!

loveit love it love it! gah my mouth started to water as i read your post ;) that means it's a delicious post! haha thanks for sharing your abundance with us, and your tips! good to know about the scare tap. we have 1 peach on the land and want to put more, but started with "easier" trees. but gah, nothing like a fresh fully ripe peach! glad to hear you're planting more each year to offset old age, a smart plan!! xxoo

Haha, love it when I can make my post delicious! Sun ripened peaches are definitely a treat this time of the year. All the hard work pays off big time :)

I love peaches and your trees look so lush and healthy, I am missing all the peaches in spain as i am ireland at the moment and the peaches here are always so hard where as in Spain you but them from the growers themselves and they are super ripe, just as you said. I do hope to have a food forest someday and love all the tips you have given, great article @thelaundrylady

Thank you! You are so lucky to be able to get them from the growers themselves in Spain. The store bought peaches just can't compare to the sun ripened ones. Thank you for stopping by @trucklife-family

Oh my goodness...peaches, my favorite fruit. Just yesterday when I visited the market I picked up a couple of peaches, and hard as rocks! Ugh! Makes me so sad. I haven't been able to find anything worth buying. Your pictures are amazing, I love your "pest reflectors" and glad they work for you. Over the years I have tried so many different methods and I think the wildlife just laughed at me. (especially the bunnies!)

Thank you! I don't even bother buying peaches in the stores. I have been spoiled with my homegrown peaches for sure. This is the first year we used the scare tape and from what I read online, I will have to take that down today or tomorrow since peaches are all harvested from the trees. That way they don't get used to it. We used to get no fruit from our trees because squirrels steal all of them. I was to a point I thought about stop planting fruit trees. Then I got two cats and problem solved :)

You had a lovely harvest, I hope Mother Nature blesses you with an even bigger one next time 💚

Thank you @zen-art! Thanks for stopping by :)

You are right: nothing beats freshly-harvested peaches. Do you know anything about propagating cuttings? We have a peach tree but the trunk is dying.... would cuttings be an effective way to pass the goodness on?

Unfortunately, I have only read about it in books and have never propagate cuttings from a peach tree myself. I would not be qualified to give you advice.

I haven't done it myself, but have had a few friends do it. The said making sure the graft is done right (matching branch sizes) and bound well it took about 4 weeks for the graft to take. It shouldn't take anything away from fruit. This obviously second hand knowledge. I'd find a couple of good articles and a YouTube video

Yum. Love peaches. What a detailed and informative post. We have a nectarine but havent tried peaches. Im sure we gave frost resistant varieties as people do grow them here. Have you tried old CDs as bird scarers? Our big Aussie birds are scared of NOTHING.. its only nets that can save our fruit.

I have tried old CDs. Birds on our property seem to grow used to it and stop caring. Do you put up a bird netting for your entire nectarine tree? That's some major work!

It is major work for sure!! Plus my apples and plums. Ugh. But if i want fruit...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39