Best Potato Harvest Ever

in #gardening5 years ago (edited)

June_13th_7.jpg
white_space.jpg

I was taking photos a couple of weeks ago, trying to post a June food forest update when I accidentally shattered my camera. This photo above was the last picture I took before the camera was dropped on its head. I have had this camera for years, so it was kind of sad to see it so broken. We have gone on so many journeys together. I had to say proper goodbye to my beloved, hardworking camera and mourn for its death.

July_10th_6_s.jpg
white_space.jpg

For now, without a good camera, I have to use my phone camera to document what's happening in the food forest. Most of the potatoes have died off now from the heat. I have been too busy to harvest until now. I was out of the country when it was potato planting time for our area, so I planted my potatoes this year three weeks late. I was not expecting a good potato harvest . I have had very little time to take care of our food forest this year, so it just sort of takes care of itself. I am pleasantly surprised by how everything is doing in the food forest without the normal human input. All the rain that Mother Nature has provided this year helps tremendously of course.

July_10th_1_s.jpg

There is something very satisfying in harvesting potatoes in the heat with my sweat dripping down my face non stop. I can see all the earthworms happy in their environment. I tried my best not to disturb their homes too much.

July_10th_2_s.jpg

I no longer harvest potatoes unless I have these long, awesome gloves. We have a lot of fire ants around our property. We treat them with natural stuff but they just move to a different location instead of dying and moving on. After being bitten by several fire ants while harvesting potatoes, I swear these gloves are must haves when growing and maintaining a food forest.

July_10th_3_s.jpg

To my complete surprise, we were harvesting a ton a potatoes from the first plant. Even better harvest than previous years. Could this be? I have not done much to these potatoes at all this year. Maybe it's just this first potato plant. The rest might not have many potatoes I thought. I carefully dug up the second and third plant and found the same amount of potatoes laying there in the dirt waiting for me to pick up. I planted a total of 10 plants this Spring. We harvested three 5-gallon buckets full of potatoes this year. It is the best harvest of potatoes I have ever had, and we still have some volunteers in the garden growing. Can't wait to dig up those and see what happens.

July_10th_4_s.jpg

July_10th_5_s.jpg

Sort:  

So sorry to see your camera broken.... Bet there are two good news!
Potato harvest looks really good!
And smartphones take incredibly nice images nowadays and they are always nearby :)

You are right. Always look on the bright side :-)

Nice harvest!! Sorry to hear about your camera though. :( At least you have spuds though! haha. Enjoy!

Yikes sorry about camera :( Love the potato harvest! Nice work!

I miss my camera, but a great harvest pf potatoes make me feel better.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.

Those are lovely potatoes! What a great harvest! Fire ants are just plain nasty. :((

Thank you. I hate fire ants. Nothing worse than putting your hands in the dirt thinking you would be harvesting potatoes then getting bitten by tons of fire ants. No fun :-(

Congratulations @thelaundrylady! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75