My entry to the Healthy Garden Competition - Greenhouse kale

in #gardening6 years ago

I recently found out about a neat gardening competition run by @dobartim. I found it on @goldendawne's page, she has kindly re-steemed it.

This is a healthy Garden Competition that runs in ten day cycles.Growing clean organic food is my passion so I was eager to enter! I know many of you who follow my page also focus on growing healthy organic food so here's the details on how to enter!

It is still early in the growing season for us so a lot of our plants are tiny still. I decided to share our greenhouse kale.

This is the first plant of the season to provide us with food, and it usually continues until early winter. We will dehydrate some, juice some for winter smoothies and we will just keep eating as much of it as we possibly can. For a continual harvest you just keep snapping off stems and new one will grow. If any leaves get too big and tough you can just snap them off and drop them around the plant.

Isn't it amazing how a few seeds can become this?!

IMG_5310.jpg

Here is the kale growing amidst the pepper, herbs and tomato plants.
Soon it will be a jungle of food in here (knock on wood).

IMG_5278.jpg

Grow Organic! The Bee's say thank you! :)

IMG_5269_01.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11