❀ Welcome To The Walkerland Kitchen Garden ❀

in #gardening6 years ago

vegetable garden 3.jpg

A garden is such a magical place. Its a place of wellness, healing and creative inspiration. It's also one of the things I am most passionate about.

A lot of what we eat comes from right here on our homestead. Pure, organic food is very important to us and a lot of what I do around here revolves around food.

The kitchen garden is one of my favourite places to spend time on the homestead. The garden at first glance has relatively conventional and orderly rows but inside those beds it is a beautiful & diverse chaos! (just like nature intended).

Sometimes 5-6 varieties of plants will be on one bed and often a surprise volunteer will pop up from a past growing season making things even more interesting. All of this diversity means that we work at combating pests, nutritional deficiencies and other issues a lot less. The plants really seem to love this arrangement too!

Walk With Me Through The Kitchen Garden

On the short path to the garden gate there is a big oregano bush, all kinds of wild plants and a big rose bush. We make jams, jellies, syrups and a whole bunch of other things from the rose petals and hips (as well as from many of the other wild plants that grow here).

There's a baby plum tree, wild strawberries and even some rhubarb tucked in here. I even have a big bush of fireweed. It reminds me of home and the flowers are tasty! I honestly don't know all of the plants that live in this space yet and new ones show up all the time.

IMG_5477.jpg

At the gate you'll walk under the rustic sticks and twigs arbour that is twisted with grape vines. To the left there is a wall of grapes running the length of the front fence. This wall of grape vines provides essential shade to the garden.

IMG_5569.jpg

This is what grows near the fence of the garden. It's a mishmash of wild flowers, chives, herbs. I don't know what some of the plants are yet but I'm working on it.

IMG_5421.jpg

Here's another view of what's growing beside the gate before you enter the garden. The bees often have parties in here. You can hear the them buzzing away with vigor!

IMG_5495.jpg

Inside the garden, you'll find raised beds filled with all kinds of deliciousness and a combination of perennials and annuals.

IMG_5426.jpg

Things look so sparse right now but rest assured a kazillion little seedlings are happily tucked into these beds. It's hard to imagine that this space in its full summer glory so I'll walk you through what we are growing and share close up's of the plants. Here's a quick sketch of how the garden is planted out so far.

IMG_5578.jpg

What's Growing In The Kitchen Garden

  • Vegetables: Squash, Pumpkins, Carrots, Beets, Cabbage, Parsnip, Tomatoes, Cucumbers, Peppers, Peas, Pole Beans, Bush Beans, Garlic, Swiss Chard, Kale, Chicory, Chives, Celery, Horseradish. Asparagus
  • Fruit: Blackberries, Grapes, Raspberries, Strawberries, Haskap Berries, Rhubarb & some wild strawberries too!
  • Herbs: Mint, Thyme. Oregano, golden oregano, Summer Savory, Tarragon, Vietnamese coriander
  • Flowers: Bachelors buttons, Sneezewort, Feverfew, Assorted Wildflower bulbs, Sunflowers, Nastirtium
  • Wild Things: Burdock, comfry, dandelion, strawberry, purslane and all kinds of other things!

We also have some kale, carrot and parsnip going to seed this year! :) Here's a guide on saving seeds! It's really easy to learn and comes with so many benefits! Find the seed saving guide here!

vegetable garden.jpg

vegetable garden 2.jpg

Kale in flower - so pretty!

One kale plant provides a LOT of seeds for replanting. Did you know that saving seeds create natural diversity within plant populations? This means that the seeds that you plant will adapt to the growing conditions of your garden. Year after year the seeds that you save will become stronger and more reliable in your climate.

IMG_5500.jpg

Golden Oregano

I treated myself to a few plants from the garden centre. I had never even heard of golden oregano before. So lovely! I hope it grows as voraciously as the other oregano we have planted!

IMG_5467.jpg

Horseradish

Just look at the healthy leaves on this horseradish! We grow it in the ground in a patch right by the garden gate - it lives with Jerusalem artichokes and rhubarb. We also grow horseradish in containers around the garden because it acts as a natural insect repellent. It thrives in containers!

IMG_5538_01.jpg

Peppers

We grow a variety of peppers from seed. Most are grown in the greenhouse. This particular plant has frost damage. Its starting to grow some new healthy leaves so we will clip off the damaged ones and try to nurture it back to health. I am experimenting with growing buckwheat around some of the plants (especially squash) in the raised beds. The idea is that it will conceal the plants from pests and attract pollinators.

IMG_5512.jpg

Cabbage

I love making sauerkraut but growing cabbage can be a challenge when so many things like to attack it. Immediately after planting cabbage I put insect netting around it - complete barrier. Even then some leaves will get chewed by bugs that can dig a tunnel under the soil but this netting has resulted in beautiful cabbage every season!

IMG_5521.jpg

Raspberries & Blackberries

We grow berries in the garden as well as in a field where we have started a large patch. They thrive here, provide shade, and attract pollinators. The down side is that raspberries are quite voracious in their need to spread and we'll find suckers growing in near by beds. We don't mind this. I just dig up the suckers and transplant them but it is something to keep in mind.

IMG_5462.jpg

The Greenhouse

If you'd like to see the greenhouse you can find my little tour of what's inside this year: here!

IMG_5276.jpg

More Gardens

Outside of this garden there are other beds filled with even more garden bounty. A lot of this is being grown for winter storage. I am REALLY excited about this, it's been several years of sweat and frustration to work the clay soil and make these beds productive. I can't wait to share that with you as well! :)

Happy Gardening

Please remember the bees before you consider using pesticides/herbicides/chemicals! ♥

IMG_5141.jpg


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca | Facebook

Photo copyright: @walkerland

big_golden.png

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

That is hard work my friend! I love that everything is planned and in order, which means someone is working hard for that to happen. Well done and congrats!

Thank you so much @erikah! It is hard work but such healthy work. ❀

I agree, we have a garden too :)

EVERY time I see your garden and greenhouse I feel as if I have stepped into a magical world of plants, flowers, herbs and all things wonderful about being alive.

oh thank you @goldendawne! Such lovely words and I appreciate them. I enjoy walking through your garden stories and sharing in your delight just as much! ❀

You have a lovely garden. This is something like what I eventually hope to have

Thank you @fetherhd we feel very fortunate to have this space. I've come a long way since I had just a few planters on a tiny balcony but along the way I've learned that you really can grow food just about anywhere! I hope you get your dream garden someday! ❀

Just love your gardens! Because you are just that bit behind us, it's amazing all you've got growing!

And I loved the bee on the blossom...

Thank you! :) Now it's just a matter of keeping it all happy.

Every time I read one of your posts like this, I feel like I've stepped out of a crazy world into a place that is full of calm, serene beauty :) Like a soothing oasis!

It sounds so good when you paint a picture like that! :)

I must admit I’m a bit speechless after reading your post.
You’ve got so much going on... Amazing.

I fell completely in love with the arbour you have. I’d love to have one of those, but I simply don’t have the space for it. (I’ve already taken up so much space in the garden to plant all my veggies...)

Those little seedlings ate so cute! I can’t wait to see how everything will look in a month from now. It will be so beautiful.

I completely agree with what you say about putting different kinds of plants together. That’s how nature works.
In my garden, I try to work according to the companion planting strategy, and last year it worked out pretty good.

Thanks for the update. I really enjoyed it.

Thanks so much @simplymike, your positive feedback is truly appreciated. It really made my day!

My ramshackle "sticks and twigs" arbour took about half an hour to piece together and cost nothing to make. It's survived two winters and seems to be holding together. It isn't very pretty when there is nothing growing on it but as soon as those grape vines leaf out I think it looks pretty cool! Maybe you'll find a good reason to have one - vertical gardening is so much fun.

This garden is a central part of our self reliant/ homesteading lifestyle. I spend a lot of time thinking about and working with food in one way or another. I suppose in a way it is my job. Growing food is a big part of why I can afford to work/live from the homestead without having to go back out into the busy work world ... and I'd rather eat beans for a month that do that! :) If I did work full time like I used to I could not manage all of this. It's such a fine balance and I feel really fortunate to be doing this.

I agree, companion planting is so important and I try to follow the rules as well!

I haven't seen a garden update from you recently. I hope you'll be sharing one soon. Thanks again for inspiring people to share their gardens, I really enjoy reading those posts and always seem to pick up new ideas and inspiration!

Great to hear they are a source of inspiration to you.

I fell in love with gardening long ago, but it wasn’t until three years ago - when I moved out of the city to a house with a big front-and backyard that I got the chance to really start doing it.

It has become a real passion, and I’ve learned so many things during these last years. If it would be an option, I wouldn’t have to think twice to get more experience and do it full-time for the rest of my life.
Of course, my own back- and front yard aren’t big enough for that, but we have this amazing alternative, ecologic farm just around the corner. They are specialized in veggies, fruits and herbs that are uncommon here in Belgium. If it would be possible, I’d never go back to my old teaching job again (although I loved teaching) and go there to learn more and do what I love most.

Unfortunately, my bad back crushed that dream. :0(

I’m going to try to write my own gardening post tomorrow. It’s a bit of a painful experience, because since I’m still recovering from my second surgery this year, I’m not able to do a single thing myself in the garden. My girlfriend knows how important it is to me, so she’s doing everything (although she’s not very enthusiatic about gardening). All I can do is watch, and that’s pretty frustrating, to be honest.

But even then; seeing seeds turn into seedlings, into full grown plants that provides us with so many delicious fruits and veggies is one of the best felings in the world :0)

I'm really sorry to hear about your back problems. I know how frustrating injuries like that can be and I have a great deal of empathy for you. I hope the surgery was successful and that you recover soon.

It sounds like you have a very loving girlfriend, its pretty wonderful that she is tending the garden even though it is not something she likes doing. I think it is a beautiful thing when someone demonstrates their love that way :)

Enjoy the garden bounty. All your years of hard work made it possible and that is something to be celebrated!

Aww, how I wish I have a space to build a greenhouse like yours!
Love your variety to plants, just lovely!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05