Virginia Spiderwort Flowers

in #gardening6 years ago

Virginia Spiderwort

Do you see the little bee? It might be a flower bee. I love these small clusters of flowers. Spiderwort flowers bloom from late spring to mid summer and each flower lasts for only 2-3 days; however, you will have continuous flowers for six weeks because each day, a new flower appears.

Spiderwort flowers are small, approximately 1" across and are usually blue or purple, but sometimes you may see them in pink or red.

If you want to see these flowers while they are open, you can catch them in the morning and afternoon, but they will close in the early afternoon if it is a sunny day. If they stay in the shade or if it is a cloudy day, they will stay open longer.

Spiderwort leaves remind me of arching, long blades of grass and they grow 1-2 feet long.

Native to the United States, this plant gets it name because it has been used to treat spider bites.

Thanks for looking!

Information Souce: illinoiswildflowers.info, homeguides.sfgate.com, gardeningknowhow.com

Image Source: 100% my own.

Sort:  

It might also be a carpenter bee! 😉

HaHa! You of all people know that this is not that monstrous carpenter bee!

Beautiful photos! Do you like to read? I read a great historical novel by Phillipa Gregory called Virgin Earth. It was about John Tradescant, the man this flower is named after.

Thanks Melinda! Now that book sounds like it is right up my alley. Thanks for telling me about it and I will definitely check it out.

Cutie flowers. :-)

Aren't they? Thanks. : )

The flowers are beautiful and have lovely color. They look really fragile, that's why they close earlier in the sunny day....

At first when I saw these flower's name on your title, I hesitated to click this article and see the photos because I'm afraid of spider..... Luckily, it's just a name of the flower and no photos of any spiders in here! ;D

Thanks for sharing interesting information about the flower with us. ;)

I agree that these flowers have a lovely color and look fragile. They are very small.

I remember that you don't like spiders. I am petrified of them and only posted them before because of my nature series. : )

Thanks so much for your kind words! : )

You're welcome! Ah! For me, spiders are very horrified animals to see.

Cool little flowers! We could of used these in
California, to many spiders down there and
other biting bugs! 🌸

I just got the heebie-jeebies thinking about spiders at every turn. EW!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09