Wild Homestead Update: New Kitchen Garden

I woke up early this morning and managed to catch the sunrise over my kitchen garden looking out towards Mt. Rainier.

I just love the space created by this garden. As I was standing on my porch enjoying the sunrise I watched birds flying around visiting my plants including a hummingbird.

The hummingbirds love my scarlet runner beans.

This garden was just finished earlier this year and is just getting going.

The soil is fairly poor and it will be a while before it is filled with dark rich soil.

But there is already a ton of life and the gathering area in the middle is quickly becoming my family's favorite place to hangout. We just love eating dinner out there!

The next steps will be to add leaf mold to the garden after the frost kills most of the vegetables and then chop-and-drop everything else to help hold the leaf mold in place.

This will help build the soil and after several years of doing this the soil should be much better.

I'm also going to add a number of perennial vegetables including a bunch of wild edible vegetables.

It was a lot of work to build this garden (the beds are all buried hugelkultur beds) but I love the results and I can't wait to see how it does next year!

Further Reading:

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I love those scarlet runner beans too sweet garden pics looks like fun

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Nothing is more smileworthy than looking out over the garden you've started to create. :) It's such a joy to watch it emerge, find a life of its own and surprise you. Wish you many more happy early mornings.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73