What My Garden Gave Me

Ah, the time to be cultivating, it's such a rewarding time, to pull the plants out of the ground or from the stem is like receiving a trophy. Only you can eat it.

But this year my garden has, well let's just say, the soil was on break. For the entire summer. That's ok though because I did manage to get a few things and a lot of zucchini.

I tried growing perhaps too many things at once without knowing enough about the plants I was growing. Being gullible on the space it needs to grow and how much water it takes versus the plant beside it. There is a lot to be considered.

So if you might ask what have I learned from growing this year, well it is just that. Not to crowd up gardening space, learn more about the plants knowing that not everything grows the same, roots and all is different,

And so with that lack of knowledge, here is what my garden gave to me.

IMG_20180911_092006[1].jpg

Everything that was carrot turnip or the likes turned out like that, or ended up being eaten by bugs or both.

IMG_20180911_092538[1].jpg

The other ones that were more of a spherical shape did come out larger. But not by much

IMG_20180911_092407[1].jpg

IMG_20180911_092843[1].jpg

The pumpkins and the squash are doing ok. I lost a couple small ones to bugs as well but I have 1 good sized squash and 2 pumpkins.

IMG_20180911_091929[1].jpg

IMG_20180911_092208[1].jpg

This white pumpkin was the one hanging in a tree that I showed in my previous pumpkin/garden post. It got bigger but not by much. The other one above is much bigger actually.

The squash...

IMG_20180911_091938[1].jpg

It would seem that I was a bit late in planting those too, but I am keeping them on the stems for as long as I can for maximum growth. They are still on the small side making it too early for picking.

Everything in the greenhouse was a no go. Nothing much came from it. Although I did manage to harvest spices in there over time and some salad. The spinach never got anywhere. Boooo.

It looks like I will be getting one last zucchini :D YAY!

IMG_20180911_093259[1].jpg

The medicine/flower garden isn't as nice as it used to be. The flowers are going away and the leaves are just starting to change color.

IMG_20180911_094451[1].jpg

Lavender hasn't changed much. I didn't notice much growth and did not get any flowers from it. But the sage plant did wonderfully and I was able to harvest nicely from it.

IMG_20180911_093729[1].jpg

With all that, I know show you my pickings, don't laugh. It is a lot less than I had anticipated in the spring lol.

IMG_20180911_094545[1].jpg

Oh yes I forgot to mention that I also had a bountiful amount of garlic chives. Man does it ever smell good too!

As we meet the end of this season, we embark on a new journey toward the autumn season where we stack wood and get the the house and yard ready for the winter. Cleaning up everything and getting rid of the old so that the earth can be dormant in the winter and have room for the new in spring.

Happy harvest everyone!

Sort:  

beautiful plants and leaves non the less! Oh i had many of those experiences too before..! And probably will have many more, I think a lot of experience is needed with many different types of weather seasons and so on! I just had the joy this summer to harvest a looot of potatoes from the garden that my partner's mother planted. She always has an amazing garden! Looking forward to plant my own when I settle one day (hopefully for the next season!)

Weather is everything. This year was the hottest it has ever been in my area I think. I had ordered fruit trees this year and most of them didn't survive because of and also my lack of knowledge didn't help lol.
I hope you get to garden one day as well. Life is greater when we can grow our own food. :)

yes the same in Denmark, where I helped make my mothers new garden, it's been abnormally hot and dry. Where are you located?

I live in northern Ontario, Canada. It is usually cold here. Well the summers are more like around 20-25 but this year was 30+. Winters here can go to -40 to -50 at times. That is in celcius I should add lol. And right now, the leaves are starting to change colors. Fall is upon us, yay! I love fall :p

fall is beautiful, I usually get melancholic around fall though, but I like it. Here in Italy some leaves are getting color too, but still usually hot. yesterday was 27 degrees, which isn't normal for this high in the mountains.
wow can't believe it gets so cold there in the winter!

We seem to have some of the same weather patterns a bit, perhaps not the same in the winter though. These days are suppose to be colder but it got quite hot the last couple of days and today my kids have gone to school in shorts. Last year they were in sweaters and coats.

Sorry to hear you feel this season was a little turndown. But I guess that's the way it goes in gardening, one year, everything goes fine, and the year after you end up with calliflowers the size of a golfball, tomato plants that have all died, zucchinis that look promising but die once they are the size of a finger, carrots and beets so small it isn't even worth to bother to clean them,... (all happened tp me last year.)

I was wondering: did you say you grew your spinach inside the greenhouse? If I'm not mistaking, you can't even grow spinache outside during mid-summer. It's a 'colder-weather' veggie. Maybe it got too hot for it in the greenhouse...?

I've never been able to grow spinache myself. For some reason, it always dies before I can harvest, so I simply gave up on trying :0)

On the bright side: look at those pumkins and squash (i'll never know what the difference is in the English language. In Dutch we call the all varieties of pumpkins. I have no idea which one to call a pumpkin, which one to call a squash... and then there's gourds too. They're all pumpkins to me, lol) They look really nice and ymmuy.

With a little luck, you learn as you go along. That's why keeping a gardening journal is important: to remember things like not to crowd up gardening space, and which veggies work together and which are not. Which ones turn big and should be put in the back, because if not, the veggies behind it won't get enough sunshine to grow properly (look at my pathetic Brussel sprouts this year. Who would have know the broccoli in front would just keep on growing, giving my sprouts no chance to grow at all.

I don't keep a gardening journal and I find myself making the same mistakes over and over again. I assume I'll learn someday, lol.

There's a famous quote that says:
" There are no mistakes in gardening, only experiments."

I did grow the spinach in the greenhouse. I didn't have anymore space created outside. Next year I will have more room but at the same time I didn't know spinach was a cold weather loving plant.

I am quite happy the things that grew successfully. The way I see it is I failed the plant so to speak. It is definitely a learning curve and it is just as the quote says it. I mean I could read and read and read on plants and not retain a thing. I have to do it in order to learn from it. My husband always says look it up on google. I roll my eyes at him most of the time. I love interacting with people as I enjoy the conversation, hear what people have to say and what worked for them. It is more real to me.

I think for the pumpkins, everything is a squash.Pumpkin is just the name of that type of squash. Zucchini to my knowledge is a squash too. The other thing I have been calling a squash is because I can't remember what kind of squash I planted lol. I don't know if it is a spaghetti squash or butternut squash. It could even be another pumpkin plant that grew lol. By the looks of it, only 1 pumpkin plant grew from the few other seeds I planted. I am quite proud of those. There is always success in every experiment, pass or fail. :)

I also like to wing it in the garden, @foxyspirit. But I do have Google as my best friend. Of course, I'm gardening in my own, lonely garden, no other gardeners around to talk with, so I have no other choice than to talk to mister Google, lol.

And indeed, making a mistake is not a failure, it's a lesson - if only I would remember those lesson until the year after, I wouldn't be making the same mistakes over and over again 😎

It was a hard year for gardens in most places, I think! Here on the east coast of the states it rained waay too much! I had no luck with radishes at all, but I think it was the variety I grew. Looks like you had some good results and good lessons learned.

It definitely was. That sun was quite hot here. I had trees planted and well they died. too much sun and not enough knowledge to keep them good. Some survived though :D I forget which ones tough.
A lot of lessons learned for sure!

Gardening is always such a learning experiment. When i started I didn't have a clue. You learn from doing! I love garlic chives - perfect with eggs. Ooh or cheese on toast, might make some now...

Haha it is quite yummy! I put some in a spicy cream cheese spread using jalapenos peppers and the bonnet peppers. It added a really great flavor to it.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Have a great weekend as well and thank you for stopping by ^_^

In gardening bugs seems to be a real problem. Is there an organic way of getting rid of them? I'm glad to see that your harvest is still bountiful.

There is, but I found out a little late. Nothing much grew from it because of the damage already being done. More knowledge for next year ^_^

this post reminds me of the banana tree at my parents place. Fruits n vegetables grown from your own hands are often the best and healthiest ones.

That is very true! I wouldn't want it any other way as well ^_^

Great gardening efforts! Lots to learn when it comes to growing. Can you imagine if next season we had to grow all our own food? To get through yo the next growing season. Humbling! Much love sweet sister ❤🦋🐢🍀💚

I wouldn't be ready for that! I need more space haha. I have the space but the land is not ready. I need to create boxes and a better plan for that. The plan is to get as much food I can growing here. Next year I am sure I will be more prepared with the knowledge I gained from this year ^_^

you have very beautiful garden my friend foxyspirit, so many vegetables, with very wonderful photos, very nice article friend. god bless you.

Why thank you :) Do you have a garden as well?


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @goldendawne to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. We invite you to use our #ghsc tag! Come join us on discord!

https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-shidong-and-foxyspirit

Thanks! And thank you @goldendawne! Awesome way to support. You have my gratitude :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78